RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Giant Scale Aircraft - General (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/giant-scale-aircraft-general-467/)
-   -   RC Guys Super Decathlon coming (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/giant-scale-aircraft-general-467/5085039-rc-guys-super-decathlon-coming.html)

Mojavegold 02-25-2009 02:48 PM

RE: RC Guys Super Decathlon coming

ORIGINAL: warbird2

A wise man said " nose heavy will fly"
The same man said " tail heavy will not fly"

Raymond
How true...same guy said, "uuuhhhhmmmm round rock roll good, square rock, not so good".:D

cmoulder 02-25-2009 11:02 PM

Yep, I'm always a bit conservative with CG, but was a bit puzzled by the recommended CG range of "5 to 6-1/2 inches" for the Pitts Special.

Wow, that's a pretty big range, and I'm new to bipes so I conclude that they must be more forgiving in the CG department, so I just split the difference and put it at 5-3/4 inches. Turned out to be perfect, requiring just a little nudge of push inverted, and I've left it right there.

Sometimes you get lucky the first time.

Mojavegold 02-25-2009 11:36 PM

Yeah, my SD balanced out right on the MFR's suggested dimension, but my H9 cub was a bit out. I wonder how that big FF-240 is going to balance in this plane, I'm guessing with a bunch of tail weight...

zdsh13 02-26-2009 12:56 AM

ORIGINAL: Mojavegold

Yeah, my SD balanced out right on the MFR's suggested dimension, but my H9 cub was a bit out. I wonder how that big FF-240 is going to balance in this plane, I'm guessing with a bunch of tail weight...