Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Glow Engines
Reload this Page >

Running in a new engine and getting it to idle

Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Running in a new engine and getting it to idle

Old 08-04-2003, 01:42 PM
  #1  
lightning SJA
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running in a new engine and getting it to idle

Hi,

this is my first post so, a big HELLO to all of you.

I have recently purchased a .61 size glow engine. I started her up yesterday to run it in. I put three tanks of fuel through with the main needle set to very rich (killed half the grass in my garden with the oil!!)

After that I decided to lean the top end out and try to get it set up for normal running. I got the main needle set so that the engine sounded about right, tried to reduce the throttle and it died. The engine would only start with the throttle open about 3/4. Any ideas why????? Is the idle needle set too lean?? Could there be a problem with the engine itself??

I don't have a great deal of experience so any help or advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
:stupid:
Old 08-04-2003, 01:50 PM
  #2  
ajvpb
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 361
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running in a new engine and getting it to idle

It's definetly a problem with your idle. Here is how to tell if it is to lean:

With the glow starter on, reduce it to idle. If it still runs or runs alot slower than before, your idle is to rich. If not, it is to lean. Adjust accordingly.

Remember, turning clockwise is leaner, counter-clockwise is richer, just incase you weren't sure. Good luck and let me know how it turns out.

Alex
Old 08-04-2003, 01:54 PM
  #3  
lightning SJA
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running in a new engine and getting it to idle

Thanks for the quick reply Alex.

I'll have a try at adjusting it tonight.

Cheers,

Steve
Old 08-04-2003, 02:07 PM
  #4  
DarZeelon
Senior Member
 
DarZeelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rosh-HaAyin, ISRAEL
Posts: 8,913
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What engine is it?

Lightning,

What engine is it? Ringed? Tapered bore (ABC/ABN/AAC)?

If the second, you should have broken it in as described here:

http://www.rcuniverse.com/showthread...59&forumid=145

The engine should have a slight pinch at TDC and should start at idle (about 1-1.5mm open).

If it is a ringed engine, a rich break-in is good, but it still must start at idle.

Check if the idle circuit is flowing, by blowing through the fuel nipple, through a piece of silicone tube, with the throttle at idle and listening.

If nothing is heard, or if very quiet, open the idle needle gradually and try to restart..
Old 08-04-2003, 02:30 PM
  #5  
lightning SJA
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running in a new engine and getting it to idle

Thanks for the advice.

It's an ABC engine and does pinch at TDC. So sounds like I could have been doing more harm than good yesterday! I'll check the position of the idle needle and open it to 1 - 1.5mm as suggested.

If I read your post correctly, I should be running it in at almost full rpm for ever-increasing bursts of time.

Thanks again,

Steve
Old 08-04-2003, 02:40 PM
  #6  
DarZeelon
Senior Member
 
DarZeelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rosh-HaAyin, ISRAEL
Posts: 8,913
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Break-in of tapered bore engines

Lightning,

The throttle should be open 1-1.5mm for idle.
The idle needle should be open a certain number of turns.

The high speed needle should be set tor a rich, two-cycle setting, just beyond the point it starts to run in two-cycle mode.

If it is a very smooth two-cycle, enrich it a bit so it "misses" every now and then.

Don't make it too lean. It will damage the engine if you do.

Don't allow the RPM to sag, as you lean the mixture.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.