Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

YS 63 Regulator confusion

Old 07-14-2017, 06:55 AM
  #1  
acdii
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 8,416
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default YS 63 Regulator confusion

I picked up a somewhat used one last weekend, and took it apart a bit to loosen it up as it sat for a while and got gummed. It spins well with good compression, but needs a muffler and prop washer/nuts which I received he washer and nuts, but the muffler is on BO. I have it on a stand and went to connect a tank to it, and after looking at the online manual, discovered, something isn't quite right. A search on googs and I can see that something is not right. There is no regulator on the bottom of the crank, just a cover plate. Instead there appears to be a regulator/pump attached to the pushrod tubes. More googs and I can see that the DZ line of YS use an external such as this, but not the same style.

Anyone have a clue as to why the 63 I have would use the external? Was it a mod or a change by YS? I have the filter, but no check valve, but have some plastic ones that will work. I don't have a pic of it, but the regulator is round, has 4 ports, one is connected to the crank, one to the carb and two on the opposite side, top two have an arrow pointing towards the carb. The crank also does not have two fittings, only the one that is on the left side that would have run to the carb and instead runs to the bottom of the regulator.
Old 07-14-2017, 01:28 PM
  #2  
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (101)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 19,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

They placed the regulator on the pushrod so it could run cooler than on the crankcase.
Old 07-14-2017, 04:41 PM
  #3  
acdii
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 8,416
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

So the hookup is the same? Fuel in at the top, pressure on the bottom and a two line tank? Regular Dubro work OK for these?
Old 07-15-2017, 02:56 AM
  #4  
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (101)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 19,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yep, any quality brand tank will do, DuBro, Sullivan, some people go to a lot of trouble and wrap the tanks in fiber glass reinforced tape, put cable ties on the fuel lines etc. Non of that is needed, just wasted time and effort.
Old 07-15-2017, 02:59 AM
  #5  
cardinalflyer
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: northport, AL
Posts: 56
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Du Bro tanks work fine, however, I always wrapped the tank with filament strapping tape to better withstand the pressure generated by the YS fuel system. I can't help on the plumbing since all of mine had the case mounted regulator.
Old 07-15-2017, 03:13 AM
  #6  
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (101)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 19,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Is your set up like this one, four lines instead of two, Thanks, Dave
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	GEDC0001.JPG
Views:	27
Size:	1.10 MB
ID:	2224351   Click image for larger version

Name:	GEDC0002.JPG
Views:	21
Size:	1.17 MB
ID:	2224352  
Old 07-15-2017, 06:16 AM
  #7  
acdii
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 8,416
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yep, just like that. I'm just missing the check valve, but I have a bag of those somewhere.
Old 07-15-2017, 02:53 PM
  #8  
acdii
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 8,416
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Turns out I have the check valve, not the filter. Anyhow, I got it all hooked up and gave it a spin with the starter. Tank pressurizes and I can see fuel trying to get tot he carb, but doesn't get past the regulator.

Got a couple pics of it on my run up board. Was hoping to get the fuel to flow so I could take it out to my bench and give it a try.



Old 11-18-2019, 08:23 AM
  #9  
acdii
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 8,416
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

2 Years, and 4 months later, I finally got the engine on the stand and gave it a try. It ran for a few minutes, then bogged down and quit. The carb filled up with fuel, and that was it. I think the regulator needs to be adjusted, but I don't know how. This appears to be the 63 S version, but not finding much on it yet.
Old 11-18-2019, 08:30 AM
  #10  
acdii
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 8,416
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Curious why the pics aren't showing in my post above, but found them elsewhere.

Old 11-18-2019, 08:46 AM
  #11  
Jesse Open
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Just North of Canadian border
Posts: 1,823
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Hobbsy View Post
Yep, any quality brand tank will do, DuBro, Sullivan, some people go to a lot of trouble and wrap the tanks in fiber glass reinforced tape, put cable ties on the fuel lines etc. Non of that is needed, just wasted time and effort.

Tanks have on occasion been known to split. Yes, it really happens. A bit of fiberglass tape can hardly be called "trouble". Easy insurance perhaps.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.