Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Norvel Big 074

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2004, 10:55 AM
My Feedback: (23)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Norvel Big 074

Hi,

I'm new to Norvel Engines and I just bought an 074. I put the engine on my stand and hooked up the fuel lines and put my finger over the Venturi. I flipped the prop a few times to prime it and no fuel was pulled into the line. I checked to make sure the throttle barrel was open and I turned the high speed needle vaule out 2 turns. I repeated the same process with finger over venturi and flipped the prop. Again no fuel was drawn. I'm I missing something in the startup or is something else wrong. I notice it doesn't flip like a my old TD051 or G-Mark 061 enginees. It seems to have two compression points. But, this could be my in-experience with the 074. Any ideas will be helpfull.

Dave
Old 04-19-2004, 12:11 PM

Default RE: Norvel Big 074

You've probably already done this but I thought I'd mention it just in case:
I think the throttle lever operates the opposite way from normal. Remove the mesh filter from the carb opening so that you can see what is going on....
Old 04-19-2004, 01:11 PM
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Did you read the break-in directions? Did you look up any threads on this engine in the 1/2a forum? What you describe may damage your purchase.
The .074 is a great engine but requires a special break-in procedure. Yes the throttle lever works in the opposite direction. The cylinder should be soaked in oil for a day before break-in. The cylinder would do best heated with your heat gun before inital rollover. After the engine frees a little then check if it draws fuel.
Old 04-19-2004, 06:15 PM
gcb

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Dave,
If you can flip it over successfully you should not need to soak it. That is for very tight engines. When it is new, if you turn it over slowly, it will stick at the top to give you a false compression feel.