Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

GMS 76 - Which Glow Plug?

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2004, 11:31 PM
acro50

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GMS 76 - Which Glow Plug?

Thanks Ed, I took up your suggestion and bought the GMS 76 instead of the 61. Same physical dimensions. My LHS suggested an OS A5 glow plug. Is this suitable for this engine? I have never used an A5 before, only A3, A8 and OS F. Any suggestions, guys?

Thanks

Ed
Old 07-14-2004, 05:14 AM
majortom-RCU
My Feedback: (40)

Default RE: GMS 76 - Which Glow Plug?

On my Tower 75, which is pretty comparable, I do well with a K&B L1, which is a hot plug. The OS A5 is a cold plug, for high nitro off-road racecar engines. I don't see how that would relate. If you want OS, I'd go with the A8, which is also rated hot.
Old 07-14-2004, 06:50 AM
Ed_Moorman
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I agree. The A5 would be too cold. You can tell because when you remove the battery, the rpm will drop a good bit. The A-3 would be a better plug or the OS #8. As has been mentioned, the K&B-1L is also good as it the Thunderbolt #3. I may be wrong, but it sure looks like the Tower Power plug is an A-3 with another label.

If you look at the coil and hole in the plug body, you can tell a hot or cold plug. Colder plugs have a small hold so the metal body is closer to the element (coil). This allows the heat to more easily transfer from the coil to the body, making it colder. Hot plugs have big holes. Next time you are at your local hobby shop take a look at the different plugs.

Don't forget to give your GMS 3 or 4 tanks of slobbering rich running, then run a smoke trail in the air for a while. Ringed engines do take a longer time to break-in compared to ABC types, but they will last a long time.
Old 07-14-2004, 07:03 AM
RonC

GMS 76 runs very well with OS 8 plug. Good idle, good transition and excellent performance
Old 07-14-2004, 10:29 AM
FlyNBHappy
My Feedback: (7)