Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Glow Engines
Reload this Page >

Is my .46FX on it's way to the boneyard?

Community
Search
Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Is my .46FX on it's way to the boneyard?

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2005, 10:20 AM
DamonTX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is my .46FX on it's way to the boneyard?

I've been running this regularly since around 1999 on several airplanes. It has always been run on the rich side with a lot of green oil residue (Cool Power 15%..green) on the wing after each flight. On the current airplane, a Sig Somethin' Extra it has 58 flights this summer.

Last weekend I noticed that green oil on the wing is now black. Does this mean the piston liner is wearing out? I remember this being a problem with the earlier FXs and OS was working on the problem. If it is about to go, I have no regrets, it's been a really good engine and definitely worth what I paid for it. However, if there is something I can do then I'll do it.

Damon
Old 08-08-2005, 10:26 AM
jaka

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Is my .46FX on it's way to the boneyard?

Hi!
Black oil means running lean! Not that the engine is worn out.
Could also mean that the silencer is loose and rubbing against the engine, but this mostly produce a grey tone to the exhaust gases.
Regards!
Jan K
Sweden
Old 08-08-2005, 11:11 AM
DamonTX

Thanks man! I'll richen it up a little next time out and see what I get.
Old 08-08-2005, 01:22 PM
Rcpilot
My Feedback: (78)

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

If you decide to rebuild it, consider getting some of the parts for the heli engine.[X(]

You can use the cylinder sleeve, piston, piston ring, piston pin, and rod from the heli engine to make your 46FX a ringed engine.

I thought performance was a LOT better than the ABC FX. I realize that it'll cost you $100--$125 to rebuild it. You could buy a new AX for that.