Search
Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Fuel/oil spraying on plane (noob)

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2006, 10:28 AM
combatroy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel/oil spraying on plane (noob)

Hello All!

I received a Hangar 9 Arrow from my wife for Christmas. Yes, she is a great wife. I have been flying electrics of all sizes and types for over 4 years and this is my first gas plane.

A gassed up the plane up with 15% fuel and ran a full tank of gas through it in my back yard (holding onto it) at varying speeds, mostly full throttle. when I was finished the starboard side of the plane, wing and tail was covered with a substantial film of fuel/oil. My question is, is this normal? If so, what should I clean the plane up with?

Plane specs are here:

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Shop/ByC...ProdID=HAN2550

Thanks in advance!

Regards - Combat Roy

Old 01-09-2006, 10:34 AM
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)

Default RE: Fuel/oil spraying on plane (noob)

Yup, it's normal. The electric crowd calls our planes "slimers" I use a spray bottle of Simple Green and paper towels to clean the plane at the end of the day.
Old 01-09-2006, 10:56 AM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Simple Green is a favorite among many people. I use 409 and some people use Fantastic. You get the idea?

Enjoy,

Jim
Old 01-09-2006, 10:58 AM
Jim Thomerson

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Sounds like you are running a fuel with some castor oil. The castor goes through your engine lubricating away and comes out taking some heat with it. You can now get into the endless discussion about castor vs synthetic oils. I also use simple green and paper towels for clean up. Welcome to the slimers.[8D]
Old 01-09-2006, 11:17 AM
Dr1Driver