Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

OS F52 break-in on new model?

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2006, 03:20 AM
mikenlapaz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OS F52 break-in on new model?

Could use some guidance on getting my new bi-plane design and new engine through maiden and the first hour or so of flight time. I'm new to glow engines, been using gas on conversions so far.

Props available: MAS 11x7.5 APC 12x5, 12x7, 12.25x3.75, 12.5x6 Plane AUW 4lb 11oz 16oz wing loading.

Fuel: PowerMaster 4 Stroke 10% 4-Cycle 15% Oil Synthetic Castor Blend (Manufacture did not reply to request for assistance on their product not meeting OS 18% oil requirement)

Klotz KL-200 Techniplate Oil
Klotz BeNOL 2-Stroke Castor Oil

Does this engine need a 'brewer's special fuel mix' during hour or two of operation? and what prop would you use for maiden and next few flights.

This is the thread on the new plane: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_3830657/tm.htm
Old 01-27-2006, 04:15 AM
Test005

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: OS F52 break-in on new model?

Fuel is debated and everybody have their own preference.
I have three OS 4strokes (.70 .70 .52)and run hem all on this fuel:

Byron 15% nitro, 16% synthetic oil. Then I add 1oz of Klots castor oil to each gallon bottle.
This works fine but I know others who use straight synthetic and/or a mix of synthetic & castor.

(My choice of fuel was from browsing the forum here on RCU)

I run 12x6 props on the .52fs
Old 01-27-2006, 10:04 AM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: OS F52 break-in on new model?

This plane is not heavy but has a lot of parasitic drag. It also has a lot of wing area.

The 12-6 is the standard prop for the OS 52 and the airplane will fly great with the 12-6.

You can run any of the props you listed.

Due to the way the plane is designed, something like the 12.25 X 3.75 Or 13 X 4N would be special props for any vertical performance the plane may be able to perform?