Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Stuck engine?

Old 01-30-2006, 01:49 AM
Beeza
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stuck engine?

Maybe somebody can help me. I'm a former r/c builder--planes and boats. I'm selling a boat powered by a K&B 3.5 outboard engine. The engine is stuck. I tried a hairblower to heat free it up, but it didn't help. I'll have to deliver the boat in a few days.

Can anyone recommend a solution? The engine ran well 10 years ago and has been stored and covered since. It has a totoal of 5-10 minutes runningtime on it. Thanks.

Beeza
Old 01-30-2006, 02:34 AM
Dauntae

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: Stuck engine?

I think your talking about a glow engine, If so it most likely has old castor in it and sitting for 10 years I would say the caster from the fuel is rock solid inside the engine, Try soaking the engine in the fuel over night to soften it up and see if it will crank over, If it is a Ball bearing engine there may be rust in bearings also but they may be alright.

Dauntae
Old 01-30-2006, 07:00 AM
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)

Put the engine in a 300 degree oven for about 10 minutes. The heat will soften the gummed up oil. Take it out and pour a little alcohol (denatured, isopropyl, etc) down the carb, glow plug hole, etc. Turn the crankshaft. Even if the crank only moves a little, keep working it back and forth. The alcohol will dissolve the gummed up oil. Keep pouring in additional alcohol and turning it over until the engine runs free and the alcohol comes out clean. Then put the engine back in the oven to evaporate the alcohol. Once the engine has cooled a bit, lube it with some after run oil.
Old 01-30-2006, 10:12 AM
gcb

Beeza,

I would remove the engine from the drive unit and check which is stuck. Did you ever lube the lower unit? Did you put it away with water in it?