Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

How to "un goop" an engine

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2006, 12:20 AM
jigeye

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to "un goop" an engine

I bought a trainer with a super tigre 45. The engine is very goop-ed up { I take it's from old fuel but I could be wrong}. I've heard many ways of cleaning out an engine. The latest I heard was to take the engine apart and put it in a crock pot of antifreeze.
I would welcome techniques people have used to clean an engine. I am new to the sport and not very mechanical so keep the solutions on a "remedial level" please.
FYI: I bought another used super tigre 45 for 25 bucks and it runs great, but I would like to see if I could salvage the other one for the helluva it.
Old 02-24-2006, 06:35 AM
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)

Default RE: How to "un goop" an engine

Are you talking about cleaning up old castor residue that makes it hard to move the carb and turn over the engine, or cosmetic cleaning to make it look new again?

For cosmetic, the crock pot seems to be the method of choice, although I personally refuse to use it.

If you just want to free up a sticky carb and engine, I just pour in some rubbing alcohol and turn the shaft and move the carb a bit. Then pour this out and add some more. You should also force some alcohol through the fuel spray bar, and remove the needle valve and clean it off. Once everything is freed up and the alcohol is coming out clean, put the engine in the oven at 300 degrees for about 5 minutes. This will help evaporate the alcohol. Take it out, pour in your after run oil of choice and it should be ready to use.
Old 02-24-2006, 09:17 AM
Fuelman
My Feedback: (6)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Demon Clean is the best way to do it if it is gummed up real bad.
Contact Bill at BJ's engines: mailto:[email protected]
Old 02-24-2006, 09:19 AM
wcmorrison
My Feedback: (2)