Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

ys-110 what am I doing wrong

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2008, 03:52 PM
mpalermo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ys-110 what am I doing wrong

I am new to 4 strokes so this is where most of my issues lie.

I just cannot get it to run when I change throttle position when I take it from about 40% to WOT it just stops and fuel flows out from the carb.

I have the needle set as per the instructions to 1.5 turns and it is leaving a very nice smoke trail so I do not think it is running lean.

I remember another post where I have seen a backplate like this but I cannot find it, I believe the issue there it was backfiring and it could not be heard, I believe I am having the same issue here.

I am using a tru turn spinner with a double jam nut and after the run the prop is loose.

Any thoughts would be greatly appriacted.

(I will upload images later I am having problems getting it to wrok from this computer)

(edit, looks like I got it to work!!)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn35751.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	58.2 KB
ID:	937484   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv64057.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	89.7 KB
ID:	937485  
Old 04-26-2008, 04:32 PM
rcdude7
My Feedback: (264)

Default RE: ys-110 what am I doing wrong

I am not a YS expert, but I do have a .91ac that runs great. I have learned that YS engines are thirsy beasts and always smoke, even when they may be on the lean side. Don't be concerned with the smoke, use a tach to set your needles. Fuel leaking from your carb when the engine is not running is (from what I understand) a sign of a malfuntioning regulator. This seems to be the most common problem with these engine so keep a spare reg diaphram handy. The diaphram is a thin silicone membrane and it is easily damaged.

Go to the YS forum and do some reading, there is lots of info there and I'll bet, all the answers you are looking for.
Old 04-26-2008, 06:21 PM
Enrique-F3A