Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Golden Age, Vintage & Antique RC
Reload this Page >

Guillows Sopwith Camel (801)...........noob

Community
Search
Notices
Golden Age, Vintage & Antique RC Want to discuss some of those from the golden age, vintage rc planes or even an old classic antique vintage rc planes, radios, engines, etc? This is the place for you. Enjoy!

Guillows Sopwith Camel (801)...........noob

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2009, 10:47 PM
mr.fibble

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Guillows Sopwith Camel (801)...........noob

im about to start building this and pland it for RC use anyone done this kit before if so ANYTIPSWOULDBEGREAT! im over 40 but a total noob cheers
Old 06-03-2009, 08:00 AM
Dsegal

Default RE: Guillows Sopwith Camel (801)...........noob

You have picked a very difficult project. First, Guillows kits are really intended for display and do not make good flyers. Those who do fly them often discard all of the balsa and recut the parts with lightweight wood. And the Camel will be a very tricky model to trim out to fly properly. You should start with a kit that is intended for RC use and not a WWI fighter plane.
Old 06-03-2009, 09:14 AM
mr.fibble

yeah I know   but I look at it this way ...................  its the first one its going to crash anyway ...................... but at least if its a hard one to build I should gain some experience  putting it together ,and ill at least have pictures of it   make sence ?
Old 06-03-2009, 09:54 AM
Hemikiller
My Feedback: (125)

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I can understand the desire to build something cool, but in this hobby you have to pay your dues before you can play. That means you really need to start with a plane that is forgiving, easy to repair and will help you learn. A Guillow's kit will only help you learn how to build an outdated model that isn't worth anything more than a display piece.