Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > Helimax
 Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400 >

Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

Notices
Helimax This is for all your Helimax questions and comments.

Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

Old 08-17-2009, 05:16 PM
  #26  
My Feedback: (243)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 1,648
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

I forgot to mention the G-190 Gyro is a good little bugger, used it on a E-Sky Belt CP.

It is not a head hold gyro so it presents fewer adjustment issues. Having flown helis many years (even prior to gyros) I prefer the non-HH for all around flying.

The HH is great when learning to hover and the 3D machines, tail never moves unless you want it too and even then it sometimes the HH gyro fights you.
Old 08-17-2009, 06:21 PM
  #27  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Mustang Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 3,225
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

Dick:

I still don't understand the difference between non HH and HH. Is the 190 going to be ok for hovering?
Old 08-17-2009, 09:57 PM
  #28  
My Feedback: (243)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 1,648
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

Yes, very much so.

Non HH is a rate gyro and works similarily to the Heli-Max when it is not in HH mode.

A HH gyro will not let the tail move from, say from a sudden crosswind. The rate gyro will hold a crosswind but not a solidly as HH and will slowly weathervane the nose into the wind if it is severe.

If you hovered the 400 in non HH mode, it is almost the same.

Make sense?
Old 08-17-2009, 10:29 PM
  #29  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sykesville, MD
Posts: 1,734
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

I don't know about the 190- never flew one -but the rate mode on the 401 is as good as most of the inexpensive so-called heading hold gyros .

Just for a counter point, Dick- I understand what you mean about liking rate, too, but I'll note that most people fly either mostly or exclusively in HH mode. I learned with rate gyros, so I appreciate it in normal flying, but I rarely use it any more.
Old 08-18-2009, 06:32 AM
  #30  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Mustang Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 3,225
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

Guess I'll just have to try it when it gets here. I never tried hovering in rate mode, but I'm so used to holding a little rudder in one direction or the other on the CPP2 that I should be OK with it.
Old 08-23-2009, 03:49 PM
  #31  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Mustang Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 3,225
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

The G-190 arrived yesterday, and I've made six or seven flights since installing it. I've got the gained turned up to around 80%, so the tail twitches every now and then, but nothing extreme. I do have to stay on the rudder stick all the time, but that's probably good, as so many of the fixed wing birds I've flown didn't care if one used rudder or not, so I have lots of bad habits to dump. I'm using two of the Electrifly 2000 batteries, now, and flights are long enough that I get tired and land it before the voltage gets down to 11.1.

I've about reached the point where I was when the CPP2 crashed the last time- hovering nose out, left in, and right in, and trying to work my way up to nose in. This helicopter flies very nicely compared to the CPP2. I can actually hover over a point in a mild breeze, and it's very smooth and predictable compared to the CPP2. I'm not afraid to take it up to 10' or so, unlike the CPP2, which would get thrown clear across the yard by a mild puff if I let it get that high. Those are the ONLY reasons I haven't sent it back, because 1) The promised gyro from Helimax still hasn't arrived and 2) I had to come up with my own way to hold the canopy on, after those silly little rubber grommets came apart. The pictures explain it pretty well- I just had to enlarge the holes in the rear of the canopy so that it would fit over the mounting bar. I stick a piece of fuel line tubing over the bar on the outside to hold the canopy in place against the inside piece.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk26248.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	119.3 KB
ID:	1261640   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dy79723.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	134.4 KB
ID:	1261641  
Old 08-29-2009, 02:08 PM
  #32  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Mustang Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 3,225
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

On this website you can get a really decent micro heading hold gyro, an MKS GY-292 for about $35:

http://www.xheli.com/

I just now installed mine on the Axe 400, and so far it works really well. The HH/Rate swtich on the transmitter selects either HH or Rate, it has nothing to do with the gain settings in the Tx, which aren't used.

The gain must be adjusted at the pot on the unit.

exheli has a set of online instructions under the gyro picture to help with setup.



Old 08-29-2009, 11:18 PM
  #33  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
PilotLight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Benton Harbor, MI
Posts: 1,027
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

ORIGINAL: Mustang Fever

On this website you can get a really decent micro heading hold gyro, an MKS GY-292 for about $35:

http://www.xheli.com/

I just now installed mine on the Axe 400, and so far it works really well. The HH/Rate swtich on the transmitter selects either HH or Rate, it has nothing to do with the gain settings in the Tx, which aren't used.

The gain must be adjusted at the pot on the unit.

exheli has a set of online instructions under the gyro picture to help with setup.

The statement in bold above I find incorrect.

From what I've read, nearly all the gyros on the market are the same. If you don't use the remote gain plug, then the gain settings on the gyro are used to adjust the gyro's gain and stop tail wag if its set too high. Also the gyro is always in HH mode. If you plug in the remote gain, then you can select either HH or rate by either being above 50% or below 50%. The value you are above or below 50% is the gain setting in that mode. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

By the way, the video shows a gy 293 gyro.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw66547.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	1265638  
Old 08-30-2009, 07:22 AM
  #34  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Mustang Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 3,225
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

I do have the "remote" wire plugged in. All it does is allow selection between HH and rate. When I first used it, the tail was wagging a lot, and changing the gain settings in the Tx made no difference. I had to use the pot on the gyro to get any change. The instructions on the web site verify this.

I've got four flights on it, now, and I'm impressed. It holds heading really well with just a bit of drift as the battery voltage changes.
Old 09-23-2009, 06:34 PM
  #35  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Mustang Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 3,225
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

Well, I finally got tired of the way the thing shook on spin up and spin down, and the fact that Helimax never did send me a replacment gyro, so I sent it back and Tower completely refunded what I paid for it.

I don't think I'll ever buy anything again that says "Helimax" on it.
Old 12-08-2010, 05:39 PM
  #36  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: IBIÚNASÃO PAULO, BRAZIL
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

<span title="">HELLO
</span><span title="">My name is Marcus live in sao paulo Brazil, I have a axe4003d but I can not set up correctly.
</span><span title="">could you explain me or send the correct configuration to fly? </span><span title="">eg DR-i pi - t-th, the setting for me to putting a futaba remote control and have no problems.
</span><span title="">I'm sorry for that English is not spoken English and here in Brazil nobody knows this setting.

</span><span title="">thanks
</span><span title="">marcus souza
</span><span title="">tel. </span><span title="">551596614545

</span><span title="">this is my helicopter http://www.helimax-rc.com/helis/hmxe0800-index.html
</span><span title="">Please await answers</span>
Old 12-08-2010, 05:44 PM
  #37  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: IBIÚNASÃO PAULO, BRAZIL
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

<span>HELLO
</span><span>My name is Marcus live in sao paulo Brazil, I have a axe4003d but I can not set up correctly.
</span><span>could you explain me or send the correct configuration to fly? </span><span>eg DR-i pi - t-th, the setting for me to putting a futaba remote control and have no problems.
</span><span>I'm sorry for that English is not spk English and here in Brazil nobody knows this setting.

</span><span>thanks
</span><span>marcus souza
</span><span>tel. </span><span>551596614545
[email protected]

</span><span>this is my helicopter http://www.helimax-rc.com/helis/hmxe0800-index.html
</span><span>Please await answers
</span>
Old 12-08-2010, 06:02 PM
  #38  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
dragus359's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 161
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

If you are using the 6EX that comes with it, I believe that either resetting the radio in the "model" menu or creating a new "model" will yield the proper configuration.  Make sure that you are in Heli mode though.  Here are a few configuration settings that might help with swash and servo-polarity

3-5 (or "S"...don't know why I always thought that was an "S"...)
A + 60
E -58
P +50

Channels
1 (reversed)
2 (normal)
3 (reversed)
4 (normal)
5 (normal)
6 (normal)

Here is a link to the heli's manual:
http://manuals.hobbico.com/hmx/hmxe0800-manual-v1_1.pdf

Here are the links to the radio's manuals:
http://manuals.hobbico.com/fut/6ex-2_4ghz-manual.pdf
http://manuals.hobbico.com/fut/6ex-6...p-addendum.pdf
Old 12-09-2010, 01:34 PM
  #39  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: IBIÚNASÃO PAULO, BRAZIL
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

<div dir="ltr" id="TranslationOutput" class="mttextarea"><div lang="en" _msthash="14451983">Thanks friend ja is giving result these settings that you reported me, now I'm trying to adjust the gyro he stays running equal a saucer lolll</div><div lang="en" _msthash="234104">Thank you very much</div></div>
Old 12-09-2010, 08:49 PM
  #40  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
dragus359's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 161
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

You are welcome!  Here are the rest of my settings
D/R (high only - for low, just lower them to whatever you want.  I think mine are around 70-ish)
1. 100%
2. 100%
4. 70%

EXPO (high only - same as above, exept low should be a negative number)
1. +8%
2. +8 %
4. -30%

EPA (Normal and Idle-UP)
1. 100%
2. 100%
3. 100%
4. 110%
5. 100%
6. 100%

TRIM (Set everything to zero and figure out what needs to be trimmed)

N-TH
1. 0%
2. 32%
3. 65%
4. 83%
5. 100%

N-PI
1. 55%
2. 57%
3. 60%
4. 83%
5. 100%

I-TH
1. 100%
2. 97%
3. 95%
4. 97%
5. 100%

I-PI
1. 0%
2. 25%
3. 50%
4. 75%
5. 100%

HOLD (I have mine set at "-5%", but the throttle end-point tends to drift, so that changes.  Just keep it below what's required for your rotor to have no power.  If it's too low, you can reset it by setting it to zero while the heli is off, restarting the radio and plugging in the heli's battery)

REVO
- INH (don't change it if you are using a heading hold gyro - the stock gyro, for example is a heading hold gyro)

GYRO (that varies by gyro - read your gyro's instructions)

SW-T
A. 20%
E. 20%
-ON

SWSH (I posted this yesterday)
A. +60%
E. -58%
P. +50%
- 3-S (or 3-5...I'm not really sure what that second character is)

F/S
3. 16% (doesn't really matter)
Old 01-03-2011, 04:07 PM
  #41  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: IBIÚNASÃO PAULO, BRAZIL
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

<div lang="en" _msthash="494039">ok thank Dragus</div><div lang="en" _msthash="886977">happy new year to you and family</div><div lang="en" _msthash="1380691">I insert the settings that you told me</div><div lang="en" _msthash="41696083">I managed to raise the floor more or less 40 cm lolkkkkk is very difficult to handle it need space not to damage it, but I managed to hit the wall and damaged a little blades, unfortunately here in Brazil has no replacement parts, only in the United States.</div>
<div lang="en" _msthash="3720626">When I get parts for restoration will fix and will I learn best</div><div lang="en" _msthash="839306">congratulations for very good videos.</div><div lang="en" _msthash="450190">Thanks for your help</div><div lang="en" _msthash="1439464">for now it will be on top of wardrobe






ORIGINAL: dragus359

If you are using the 6EX that comes with it, I believe that either resetting the radio in the "model" menu or creating a new "model" will yield the proper configuration. Make sure that you are in Heli mode though. Here are a few configuration settings that might help with swash and servo-polarity

3-5 (or "S"...don't know why I always thought that was an "S"...)
A + 60
E -58
P +50

Channels
1 (reversed)
2 (normal)
3 (reversed)
4 (normal)
5 (normal)
6 (normal)

Here is a link to the heli's manual:
http://manuals.hobbico.com/hmx/hmxe0800-manual-v1_1.pdf

Here are the links to the radio's manuals:
http://manuals.hobbico.com/fut/6ex-2_4ghz-manual.pdf
http://manuals.hobbico.com/fut/6ex-6...p-addendum.pdf
</div>
Old 01-03-2011, 04:08 PM
  #42  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: IBIÚNASÃO PAULO, BRAZIL
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

<div lang="en" _msthash="494039">ok thank Dragus</div><div lang="en" _msthash="886977">happy new year to you and family</div><div lang="en" _msthash="1380691">I insert the settings that you told me</div><div lang="en" _msthash="41696083">I managed to raise the floor more or less 40 cm lolkkkkk is very difficult to handle it need space not to damage it, but I managed to hit the wall and damaged a little blades, unfortunately here in Brazil has no replacement parts, only in the United States.</div>
<div lang="en" _msthash="3720626">When I get parts for restoration will fix and will I learn best</div><div lang="en" _msthash="839306">congratulations for very good videos.</div><div lang="en" _msthash="450190">Thanks for your help</div><div lang="en" _msthash="1439464">for now it will be on top of wardrobe</div>
Old 01-03-2011, 04:21 PM
  #43  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
dragus359's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 161
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Programming Futaba 6EX for an Axe 400

You are welcome! I am glad I was able to help. Happy new year to you too!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.