Community
Search
Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

Gona need some help

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2010, 02:55 PM
j1273

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gona need some help

Right this savage I bought is not goin good.
Im a newbie with a savage 20 something bouight second hand. It came with no manual so I have downloaded a savage 3.5 manual as it looks close.
The list of problems is quite large
Front and rear wheels wobble
The nut that the brake disk sits on has started to round off, the disk can move in and out on this nut. Is that normal? Ive never built one of these.
I momentarily lost drive earlier something was slipping in the gearbox, then it started working again!!!!

Tomorrow Im stripping it probably totally so will probably need quite alot of help in the coming weeks!!
Not happy with this I have a feeling its gona be expensive!!
Jay
Old 12-07-2010, 03:12 PM
Argess

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Gona need some help

Wheels do wobble.....there's normal, and there's not normal. Just check the bearings and steering knuckes, etc. There may be no issue.

Brake disc(s) are a loose fit on the hex collar on the transmission output. First time I saw that I couldn't believe it, but it works fine. Are you sure the hex is rounding off and it's not just the metal surface treament worn off?
Old 12-08-2010, 12:56 PM
Shenanigans
My Feedback: (12)

What did you expect buying something you know nothing about?  Do a little research before you cut a check to someone.  Even if you are a newb to nitro rc's, you shouldnt be a newb to buying used goods.  It probably will be expensive...ask a lot of questions with pictures so the people here can help you.  You dont want to spend hundreds of dollars on parts when they're not the ones you need.
Old 12-08-2010, 01:47 PM
Argess