Community
Search
Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

New Savage 25 frustrated owner...

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2003, 11:05 PM
justindu

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Savage 25 frustrated owner...

Well let me start by saying I am brand new to the R/C and nitro scene. I picked up a CEN MT2 about a week ago, and had troubles with it immediately. The idle seemed a little high and it would go without hitting the accelerator (but I could still control it), then all of a sudden it just took off RUN AWAY!!

It ran smack into a fire extuinisher and flipped on its back. The engine was stils fully accelerated. So I pinched the gas line and it shutdown.

Now whenever I start it up, the idle is really high. Its like I have the accelerator pulled all the way back (and I am not even touching the radio). I tried playing with the idle screw, and I can get the idle to really low before it shuts off, yet when I release the break on the radio it just accelerates again!!

So I figured it was just a lemon cause CEN isn't as well known. I plan on sending it back to CEN to be checked out. So then I decided I would go get the much respected Savage 25. Went to the LHS today and dropped $550 total. I fired that up and guess what?? EXACT SAME PROBLEM!! @*&%!

I fire it up and the idle just keeps getting higher and higher and the wheels spin faster and faster while off the ground!! What's the deal? I checked the obvious things like:

- Throttle Trim on Radio is ok
- Carb isn't stuck open
- Linkage seems to be working fine