Community
Search
Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

Savage SS4.6

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2005, 09:37 PM
bgw_savage

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Savage SS4.6

I am new to Nitro engines. (I had a Clod Buster back in the day) Anyway, I have broken in the SS4.6 engine, but I am having trouble getting it tuned. Anyone know about how many turns of the high speed needle screw it will take? I have turned it a 1/2 turn so far over tank fills #5 & #6. I notice when the gas tank nears empty the engine leans out and I get a huge boost in power.

Also I think my slipper clutch is too loose. The truck runs fine on pavement, but bogs down in grass. How thight should the nut be that compresses the spring?

Suggestions?
Thanks.
Old 07-09-2005, 10:36 PM
thunderw0lf

Default RE: Savage SS4.6

Took me about 2 -2 1/2 turns leaner on the HSN to start getting decent performance. Also, you will need to lean the LSN some too before you can really get the HSN tuned good, it's just way too rich, but mine only took about 1/4 turn leaner to get half way decent take off. Just take your time and only lean it out no more than about 1/16 to 1/8th turn at a time. And the reason the power jumps like it does near the end is that it leans out quick at the end.

As for the slipper, mine is only about 1/4 turn back from fully tight, any looser and it melts the center.

Also, if your using the stock plastic clutch shoes, it could be those that are slipping, especailly in grass. A good set of aluminum shoes will make a big difference and also saves melting spur gear teeth.
Old 07-10-2005, 08:41 AM
bgw_savage

I will continue to tweak the HSN and keep in mind I may need a slight LSN tweak. I will have to look into getting the aluminum clutch shoes too.

Thanks for taking the time to reply.
Old 07-11-2005, 09:19 AM
redbarton