Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Monster Trucks > HPI Monster Truck Forum
Reload this Page >

Question about HPI Aluminum Clutch shoe set

Community
Search
Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

Question about HPI Aluminum Clutch shoe set

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2007, 02:13 AM
phoenix_stu

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about HPI Aluminum Clutch shoe set

Sorry if this sounds stupid.

The set comes with two sets of springs, Silver and Gold. It says use the silver on s-25 engines and gold on the 4.6 engin. No mention of the 4.1 I have. Would it be safe to say that I can use the gold springs on my 4.1?
Since I am new to this and I am still learning the engines. I am assuming the S in the s-25 means small block. Am I correct? If I am correct, then since the 4.1 is a big block I should use the gold springs. Right?

Input please.

Thanks
Old 04-17-2007, 03:15 AM
l3asher

Default RE: Question about HPI Aluminum Clutch shoe set

The "S" does not mean small block. The "S" means Savage. I'm not sure which is which for the springs but you can use either one on the 4.1. The stiffer the spring the more the engine revs up before engaging the CB and a harder take odd per say.
Old 04-17-2007, 03:44 AM
phoenix_stu

ORIGINAL: l3asher

The "S" does not mean small block. The "S" means Savage. I'm not sure which is which for the springs but you can use either one on the 4.1. The stiffer the spring the more the engine revs up before engaging the CB and a harder take odd per say.
So which one would be better. Would it be better to have it rev higher before the CB kicks in. Wouldn't that cause undue wear? I do understand when you say a harder take off but if it has to rev higher to engage the CB would that par say decrease response time when you pull the throttle?