Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > IMAC
Reload this Page >

Best simulator for 3D, IMAC practice

Notices
IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

Best simulator for 3D, IMAC practice

Old 02-07-2003, 11:42 AM
  #1  
dave_anderson
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (47)
 
dave_anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,162
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best simulator for 3D, IMAC practice

Can anyone recommend a software/simulator that is best (in your opinion) for practicing 3D aerobatics and IMAC patterns? Any add-on recommendations are appreciated as well.

Thanks in advance!

Dave
Old 02-07-2003, 02:55 PM
  #2  
krayzc-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best simulator for 3D, IMAC practice

do you have a friend taht has g-2? it has some good points and a few bad ones but its strong for the market check out the flight sim. forum.
Old 02-07-2003, 03:03 PM
  #3  
EXTREME FLIGHT
Senior Member
 
EXTREME FLIGHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Buford, GA
Posts: 779
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best simulator for 3D, IMAC practice

I just returned from the Nuremburg Hobby fair where I spent a considerable amount of time flying the Ikarus simulator. I was very impressed. I feel it is even more realistic than Realflight. Roland Matt has tweaked several of the airplanes and they fly incredible. There is a simulation of his 3W TOC Extra 330 that is excellent. I spoke with a company rep and they are working with several top European fliers who will develop simulations of their competition aircraft. I highly recommend this simulator.
Old 02-07-2003, 04:52 PM
  #4  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best simulator for 3D, IMAC practice

I don't fly 3D but I have found that G2 set with the proper view helps immensely. I can focus on centering the box, the plane's presentation, accurate of the maneuver and other things just by the view I use. It is a great tool.
Old 05-21-2003, 03:02 AM
  #5  
redtail
My Feedback: (15)
 
redtail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 2,625
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default G-2 Settings

Hello can you help me with possible settings within G-2 to help with IMAC sequence practice. Thanks.
Old 05-21-2003, 03:20 AM
  #6  
Torque'n
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best simulator for 3D, IMAC practice

The Ikerus one is so much better than the g2. I have flown both and now own the Ikerus. This new sim is much more stable than the g2 and the graphics are much better. All around a better program.
Garrett Morrison
Old 05-21-2003, 12:07 PM
  #7  
cap10b
Senior Member
 
cap10b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 819
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Windows 2000 Prof

Garrett
Is the Ikarus 3D Flight Sim compatible with Windows 2000 Professional. The web site says Win 9x and ME. Those two operating systems run FAT 32 and Windows 2000 runs NTFS.
Enjoyed the write up on your visit to 3W.

Thanks

Johnny
Old 05-21-2003, 03:33 PM
  #8  
Torque'n
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best simulator for 3D, IMAC practice

I believe the Ikarus sim is compatible with everything from win 98 to XP. I have a very basic graphics card in my computer. I'm not into the games and fun stuff. But the sim works very good and has the best graphics I have seen. The planes will fly High Alpha, IMAC, Scale and more. I played around with the settings to make the 3w Extra fly close to my 3W extra. What I did was try and get the snaps and such to be around the same timing. I am very happy with the system and everyone else I talked to is also.
Garrett Morrison
Old 05-21-2003, 04:01 PM
  #9  
DanS
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ojai, CA
Posts: 106
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best simulator for 3D, IMAC practice

The Ikarus sim "Aero Fly Pro" works fine with NTFS. I run it on XP with NTFS and have had no problems.
Old 05-21-2003, 06:48 PM
  #10  
madhun
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Karlsruhe, GERMANY
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best simulator for 3D, IMAC practice

First of all: Hello folks!

I've tried both RF G2 and AFP, but in my opinion realflight is the much better sim. The flying characteristics, particularly concerning torque rolls etc., are far more realistic than with AFP. I didn't take me 5 minutes to get a 3m Cap torqueing and I could do rudder-touch and goes exactly where I wanted them. I dont own a 3m Airplane, but I just cannot imagine that it's that easy to 3D. Flying torque rolls in RF G2 require an amount of practice that comes much closer to real life.
Old 05-21-2003, 09:28 PM
  #11  
cap10b
Senior Member
 
cap10b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 819
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Windows 2000 Prof

Thanks DanS,

Appreciate the information, for the money its worth a try.

cap10b
Old 05-22-2003, 03:52 PM
  #12  
cap10b
Senior Member
 
cap10b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 819
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airtronics Interface

Dang it just found out that I have to go with G2 Aerofly does not interface with Airtronics. oh well.....
jds
Old 05-22-2003, 09:37 PM
  #13  
EXCAP232
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 1,319
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: G-2 Settings

Originally posted by redtail
Hello can you help me with possible settings within G-2 to help with IMAC sequence practice. Thanks.
Go to the Realflight site and download the CAP 2X.
Low rates for sequences and high for 3D.

Enjoy,
EXCAP232

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.