Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > IMAC
Reload this Page >

Servos in the tail of a CG Ultimate

Notices
IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

Servos in the tail of a CG Ultimate

Old 05-05-2003, 04:00 AM
  #1  
sandrews
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Conway, AR
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servos in the tail of a CG Ultimate

I am in the process of rebuilding my Ultimate after a crash, and I want to put the elevator servos in the tail. I have a Saito 120 on the front and before I crashed it, I had some lead in the tail, so I want to eliminate the lead and put servos back there. Are two JR 537s to heavy, or do I need to use something less? Also, does anyone have any pics of the elevator servo install?

Thanks
Seth
Old 05-05-2003, 11:39 AM
  #2  
Gone to a Higher Plane
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 264
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servos

The 2 537 servo will work and you might get lucky and come out just right. Are you going to mix the servos through the Tx??
Old 05-05-2003, 01:09 PM
  #3  
splais
My Feedback: (25)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 3,483
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Servos in the tail of a CG Ultimate

I don't know how the Saito 1.20 compares to my OS 1.08 weightwise; but I have 3oz of dead weight in the tail of my Ultimate to balance her out. I am seriously thinking about relocating the servos and putting two elevator servos in the rear. Taking out the big pushrod, adding the weight of servos, mounting blocks and everything rearranged and I figure it will come out just right and be 3oz lighter overall.
Old 05-05-2003, 11:16 PM
  #4  
sandrews
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Conway, AR
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servos in the tail of a CG Ultimate

I'm not sure about the mixing, I have a JR 662 radio, can I run a -harness to the servos, or is there a better way of doing it?

Thanks
Old 05-06-2003, 12:18 AM
  #5  
cmassa
Senior Member
 
cmassa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 162
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Servos in the tail of a CG Ultimate

I'm also rebuilding an Ultimate from a crash (happened almost 10 years ago) and have moved the elevator servos to the tail. I have a YS120SF on it now but haven't balanced it yet. I put the servos (Hitec 525's) inside the rear of the fuselage with pushrods coming out the existing slots. Hope to fly it this weekend. Just have to finish the cowl. Here's a picture of the servos. I left the rudder servo in its stock location (Hitec 605)

Chris
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	76109_1907.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	48.3 KB
ID:	45321  
Old 05-06-2003, 12:18 AM
  #6  
cmassa
Senior Member
 
cmassa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 162
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Servos in the tail of a CG Ultimate

Here's another picture.

Chris
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	76110_1907.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	50.7 KB
ID:	45322  
Old 05-06-2003, 03:19 AM
  #7  
splais
My Feedback: (25)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 3,483
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Servos in the tail of a CG Ultimate

Seth, I'm not familiar with JR radios, but if you are going to run two elevator servos you need a computer radio to properly mix and balance throws and trim.
Old 05-09-2003, 01:06 PM
  #8  
cmassa
Senior Member
 
cmassa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 162
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Servos in the tail of a CG Ultimate

I've now put it together and checked the CG. With the servos in the tail and the YS120 on the front, the CG is in the middle of the range. The battery is near the CG. No added weight. The plane comes in around 9 lbs.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	77050_1907.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	58.6 KB
ID:	45323  
Old 05-09-2003, 02:19 PM
  #9  
Gone to a Higher Plane
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 264
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lookin Good !!!!!!!!

Ha Chris...that bipe looks good and should be really nice at 9 lbs. and the 1.20.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.