Community
Search
Notices
JetCat Turbine Direct Support Ask your JetCat questions here for the experts that know them. MrMatt and Bob Wilcox will field your inquiries.

ECU Battery Question

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2012, 11:58 AM
rc4flying
My Feedback: (21)

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default ECU Battery Question

Hello Guys,

I am new to jets and I have just started to run my new Jet Cat 140RX. The battery that came with it for the ECU is a 2100maH 3 cell LiFePo battery with 9.9v on the label.
Question is, how many flight of 10 minutes plus startups and cool down time, can I expect out of a battery of this size? Or should I ask, what would be a no-fly voltage ? The full charge voltage appears to be 10.2v if I am reading the charger right. I ask because I am totally new to this battery chemistry. I did fly one flight with a fully charged battery for a 10 min flight and recharged the battery. It appears to have taken 700ma. Would this sound about right ? Iuse up the batteries. do have a bigger battery comin, but would like to understand how these ECU's

Thanks for the help.
Old 06-24-2012, 03:17 PM
Thud_Driver
My Feedback: (1)

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: ECU Battery Question

Somewhere around 6.9v, + or -, the ECU declares the battery dead (Power Fail) and shuts off.  It doesn't much care whether you're in the air or not.

Keep in mind, kero start takes a lot of amps and a battery which can put it out.  So your number is probably ok.  What you have to do is develop a track record of what you put back in, per flight, based on your normal routine.  What's normal for you and your particular jet may not be normal for us.   Over time, you will get to know what your average consumption is per flight.  You should also decide how much margin you want in the battery and recharge when you get to that level.  Volts are good to monitor but I prefer to know how much "fuel" is likely to be left in the battery too.