Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Top Flit P47 .60 Question

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Top Flit P47 .60 Question

Old 10-20-2013, 05:08 PM
stevil

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Top Flit P47 .60 Question

I am currently in the process of building the Top Flite P47 and I am stuck hoping some experienced builders can help me out.

Background
I don't consider myself a complete newb. I have been flying for 3 years and assembled countless ARF's, but only built 1 1/2 kits. The complete kit I built was a Sig Somethin Extra (99% complete pic attached). The 1/2 kit was another SSE that was in bad shape that a friend partially built. You can see it in the background of the P47 pic (currently awaiting covering).

The Problem
As you can see in the pic the top half of the fuse is complete minus sheeting. The problem is the first step of sheeting requires a shaped piece of 3/32 sheeting and says to refer to the plan for placement. I have 2 sets of plans, 1 for building and one hung on the wall. I do not see anywhere on the plans for placement of this piece. The second problem is neither piece of this shaped sheeting matches up to the ledge it is to be glued to(bottom edge along the fuse half bottom). It seems it should be flat along the edge but is curved along the length of the fuse. If I trim the sheet to fit, it would the be too short to match/ glue to the stringers. Am I just completely missing something here or is there a problem with my sheeting? Also the ledge is 3/16. Is the sheeting supposed to be flush witht the ledge or against the stringers and formers and sanded flush later? The instructions are very vague here

Thanks in advance for any help or advice. I can post more pics of the problems if needed.
Old 10-21-2013, 12:30 PM
emort2003

I am building this kit, and I am a little farther then you.