Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Covering: Making Stripes?

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Covering: Making Stripes?

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2014, 12:33 PM
splais
My Feedback: (25)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Covering: Making Stripes?

I am totally new to trying covering. I want to put alternating yellow and black stripes on the bottom of the pictured wing. As a beginner, would I be better off laying down individual stripes one at a time; or laying down a solid black wing and overlaying the yellow stripes?

My thinking is, it would be easier to work with individual stripes. Comments?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	wing.JPG
Views:	220
Size:	127.9 KB
ID:	1968739  
Old 02-15-2014, 05:05 PM
vogelm1
My Feedback: (1)

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Typically you should apply a darker color over a lighter one...if you apply yellow over the black, it will "bleed" through if you used black as your base. That being said, I'd cover the entire wing in yellow first, then cut your black stripes to the desired width and iron them down over the yellow. You probably should sand away that black over spray around the landing gear as well, so it doesn't show through the yellow covering.

You could cut individual stripes of yellow and black but it'll be much much harder to cover that way and get a smooth finish imo.
Old 02-15-2014, 05:20 PM
dbacque
My Feedback: (3)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post