Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Advice need for a full restore. Complete beginner. Any tips etc appreciated

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Advice need for a full restore. Complete beginner. Any tips etc appreciated

Old 10-24-2016, 02:09 AM
Matgray86

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice need for a full restore. Complete beginner. Any tips etc appreciated

Hi.

If if anyone could spare some time and advice I'd be very great full.

A little while ago my partners grandfather gave our son one of his first ever planes he built that has seen better days. He wasn't very well at the time and my son accepted the plane as a gift.

Sadly he has since passed and I've said to my son and partner I'd like to refurb it to its former glory in memory of her grandfather.

This is where I plead for help.... I've never built a plane before. I'm very good with my hands and woodworking etc. I'd like to keep it as original as possible and will be hopefully using his motors etc.

As as you can see from the pictures the body is not in the best condition. How do I repair the bulk of the body as this seems to have started to crack and very thin. How do I re make the rear flaps and fix in the little hinges.

Basically i need to give the plane a full referb.

again please excuse my lack of knowledge as I've not done this Before.

Many thanks matt
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2617.JPG
Views:	62
Size:	1.96 MB
ID:	2187390   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2616.JPG
Views:	62
Size:	2.07 MB
ID:	2187391   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2619.JPG
Views:	69
Size:	2.05 MB
ID:	2187392   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2620.JPG
Views:	54
Size:	2.04 MB
ID:	2187393   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2622.JPG
Views:	58
Size:	2.10 MB
ID:	2187394  
Old 10-24-2016, 07:35 AM
mgnostic

Received 74 Likes on 64 Posts