Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Four Star 60 with Retracts?

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Four Star 60 with Retracts?

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2004, 07:10 PM
heli-savage

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Four Star 60 with Retracts?

Hey Guys,

I just crashed my 4*40 after about 50 flights and want to build a 4*60 now to replace it. I have a new OS 61FX that will fit in it nicely. One thing I would like to do is to put retracts in it. Anyone have any info doing this that might help out? I have never used retracts before and would like for this plane to be my first crack at it. What would be a good set of retracts without breaking the bank? Any other mods that are worth doing? I think I might build a nose for the thing this time.

I am in the planning stages now, as I plan to build this fall/winter. I still have a Hog Bipe to tie my over until then. Thanks All,

Dion
Old 07-29-2004, 03:03 AM
smokinghole42
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Four Star 60 with Retracts?

With this airplane I would recomend just staying with fixed gear. Retracts are never really worth all of the problems associated with them. But should you choose to anyway I recomend a set of high quality pneumatic retracts. Mechanical are extremely hard to plan out and re less reliable in my opinion. I'm building a larger cousin to the 4*60, the thunderbug 120. Its extremely similar, but they have a better set up for the landing gear to be retracts. Its Tricycle nor taildragger. The problem is the main spar of the wing would have to be changed to fit the main gaer retracting. My solition would be to get the 90 degree rotationg retracts like on the p-40's. build it slightly outside the wing to mainain the structure of the wing spar. and fare it in.
Old 07-29-2004, 09:11 AM
Campy
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post