Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

BUSA Bristol M-1

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

BUSA Bristol M-1

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2004, 01:23 PM
bps
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BUSA Bristol M-1

I am at the covering stage with this kit. The fuse presents some interesting covering challenges trying to cover with monocoat. Has anyone built this kit and covered with monocoat. I could use some tips, and yes I have built a few planes and used this covering before.

Thanks

JEB
Old 07-05-2005, 05:59 PM
mgnostic

Received 86 Likes on 74 Posts
Default RE: BUSA Bristol M-1

Hi,
Im just getting started on mine. It's an older kit that I got at an auction. No cowling ( I guess it got lost somewhere) I'm considering coverite fabric or sig coverall. i just couldn't put monokote on a WWI airplane. I'm debating fiberglass or an aluminum pan for the cowl.
Mgnostic
Old 07-06-2005, 06:52 AM
bps

I used the colortex from BUSA. Great covering to work with and it gives a buitiful finish for the time period. I first tried the red monocoat and to get the round fuse covered was almost imposible. Nice kit for the money. I used the kit cowl and it proved servicable after reinforcing the inside with fiberglass cloth. Be careful this bird is tailheavy even with a 4 stroke in the nose. I used the magnum .52 4s. I also built up the tail feathers and did not use the solid balsa (heavy) parts supplied in the kit.
Enjoy, JEB
Old 07-06-2005, 10:49 AM
papermache
My Feedback: (35)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

bps,

BUSA sells replacement cowls for the bristol M-1 for 12.95. Check out their website.

papermache
Old 07-06-2005, 11:13 AM
jstanton
My Feedback: (14)

Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts