Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

First Kit GP RV-4

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

First Kit GP RV-4

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2004, 03:20 AM
Transam

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Kit GP RV-4

I started my first kit. It is a GP RV-4. Since I am new to this and just learning I thought that I might start a thread with my experiences and lessons learned over the course of this build. I have learned so far that best way for me to get the right fit on the stab and elevator is to use a belt/disk sander. I started the stab without it and the parts are going to need some sanding with a block to get them trued up. I built the elevator with the use of the disk sander and the difference is night and day. Here are some pics. I hope this might help some other beginners, and encourage others that might think they don't have the ability to build a kit. This is all my work so far, I have absolutely zero previous wood work skills and no other building experience. If I can do it any one can just got to jump in and get dirty.

T/A
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Zw69428.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	44.5 KB
ID:	204204   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wr53855.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	40.4 KB
ID:	204205   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw58983.jpg
Size:	41.0 KB
ID:	204206   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fy72280.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	41.3 KB
ID:	204207  
Old 12-18-2004, 12:38 PM
cruzmissile

Default RE: First Kit GP RV-4

Yes, building experience will be gained as the learning curve increases with the increased building, but there will be faults learned and mistakes made during building process. As long as you keep your mistakes to a minimum, the plane will be built fairly well.
Old 12-19-2004, 01:35 PM
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts