Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Playboy old Timer

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Playboy old Timer

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2005, 10:58 PM
txaggie08

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Playboy old Timer

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWN%3AIT&rd=1

just picked up that kit off ebay. from what i have found it was recommended as a trainer(at least in a couple of places, but more importantly itll be a challenge to build. Im laid up for the next 6+weeks due to the hole staff infection ate in my heel(can you tell how happy i am).

anyway, i was curiousif anyone had ever built one. im kind of new to RC aircraft(first plane.....), and was curious on glues to be used. ive done pretty extensive carpentry work, but didnt know exactly what varietys would be used to build a kit like this. thanks for advice and help, im shure ill be coming back here for advice and help through the next month or two(rough guess on building time?)
Old 04-14-2005, 02:18 AM
Broken Wings
My Feedback: (20)

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Playboy old Timer

That's a cool old model airplane.

Just a suggestion...If you build the cabin version it will probably be a little easier to get your radio equipment inside. If it were me I think I'd make a jig to hold all the bulkheads in place while I run all the stringers along the sides. (A nice straight length of hardwood the length of the fuse will do) Being that the wing ribs are under cambered it might not be a bad idea to make one for the wing also.

I think that I would cover it using silk span and minwax polyurethane. If you use one of the iron on coverings it might warp the wing when it shrinks. They look cool with silk span to you can dye it different colors.