Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

i need tip's on cuting mono coate

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

i need tip's on cuting mono coate

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2003, 04:31 AM
rich141

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default i need tip's on cuting mono coate

I'm pretty new at kit building and I sure could us some technical advice cause I'm kind of lost
could any one please give me some tips on covering and making color scam's
Wat surface is best to cut on.and how can i cover a wing say long way's with multi strips' is it best to ad-hear the strip's to gather in a singele sheet and apply in one piece,iron the strip's, layered one above other her over the wing one at a time,would mono coat over mono Cote layerd over base sheet going to give a bad Finnish.
if some one with a little experience could give me some advice i would sure appreciate it.
Rich 141 AKA crash GALveston tx
Old 01-17-2003, 01:48 PM
kirknik

Default covering tip

Its probably bes to iron the strips into one sheet first. Do it on a sheet of glass. The monocote wont stick to glass. Then transfer to the plane. Use lots of razor blades. They dull very quickly on monocote.
You can also do a base color on the plane and then add stripes over top. Try to poke a bunch of pin holes in the base coat so the air has somewhere to go when you aply the strips. Less bubbles.

My Ultimate was done with a base of red and then the stripes and checkers were added one at a time afterwards.

Take you time, it will be ok.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	47960_13459.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	11.5 KB
ID:	29697  
Old 01-17-2003, 02:20 PM
DSJBEAN
My Feedback: (1)