Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Foam wing sheeting >

Foam wing sheeting

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Foam wing sheeting

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2002, 02:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Foam wing sheeting

Well now I hope I didn't screw up!
I have been a carpenter, wood worker for 30 years. I have also done quite a lot of work with laminates. So when I was sheeting some foam wings the other day this is what I did.
1. I glued the 4 inch by 36 inch by 1/16 balsa strips together with thin CA. It took 4 strips and a half of another. Times 4 for the two sides of two wings.
2. Then when I acually sheeted the foam cores I used water based contact glue. Just like you might use for gluing formica or thin wood sheeting.
It was so simple that I got to thinking that maybe I screwed up! All you have to do is paint one side of each surface to be glued (one foam wing side, one side of the wood panel). Let it dry then re-coat it one more time and let dry. Then line 'em up and stick them together. No weights and no overnight curing time.
Has anyone else done it this way?
Old 03-18-2002, 03:52 AM

Thats the way most everyone does it. You can also coat the sheeting and foam with titebond wood glue. Let the titebond get fairly dry and then iron it on using the wife's iron. The heat activates the glue.
Old 03-18-2002, 05:35 AM
My Feedback: (11)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I think a lot of people are wary of contact cement. You got one shot to get it right. I used polyurethane glue to sheet the wings on my Edge. There is time to get the position exactly right and the glue foams as it cures filling any voids and actually sending fingers down into the foam.