Notices
LMH Helicopter Discussion of all LMH helicopters both electric and glow.

Corona 120?

Old 03-02-2005, 08:36 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: brady, TX
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Corona 120?

Are there any Corona 120 (electric) flyers out there? if so,,i just got my kit yesterday,,brushless motor and ESC,,and would like any suggestions to help my first setup for chopers cause its been a long , long time,,since i have flown rotorwings,,thanks,jim
Old 03-02-2005, 10:27 AM
  #2  
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Fitz21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL,
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

jim, there is an LMH forum on rc universe for all the corona stuff. I have three electric helis and let me assure you, the LMH120 is the most durable heli out there. I am running brushless as well. recommend you start out with the 4 degree blade grips until you get used to the way the bird handles. I also converted the tail drive to a belt drive as well as a belt drive for the brushless motor.
Old 03-02-2005, 07:05 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Evans City, PA,
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

Hey Jim, congrats. It is a fine helo. What crutch type? Alum or wood? What motor and esc? I'm running a stock (wood crutch) 120 with a Mega 16/15/3 and Eflite 40 esc. The only mod I'm using is the Hyperdrive kit (belt drive from www.ballistictechnology.com ) replacing the main gear. I'm using 3-cell Lipos (2100s) and getting 12 minute flighttimes.
good luck

Chris
Old 03-02-2005, 09:26 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Enfield, CT
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

Congrats on your new purchase. If you follow the instructions in the manual, you should have no problem getin er up in no time. Most
of the crashes are money free, but the ones that cost are not much. Plenty of upgrades are there for the taking, but have fun with it. If you have any questions, I am sure there are plenty of people willing to help.
Brushless is the way to go, but does not need to be right away. I went there because I had alot of problems with the fusion 7 and controller.
good luck
Jer
Old 03-03-2005, 01:42 AM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cerritos, CA
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?


ORIGINAL: Airborne82nd

Hey Jim, congrats. It is a fine helo. What crutch type? Alum or wood? What motor and esc? I'm running a stock (wood crutch) 120 with a Mega 16/15/3 and Eflite 40 esc. The only mod I'm using is the Hyperdrive kit (belt drive from www.ballistictechnology.com ) replacing the main gear. I'm using 3-cell Lipos (2100s) and getting 12 minute flighttimes.
good luck

Chris
I'm assuming that 3-cell lipo 2100s that you are using is ThunderPower Gen2 ?

Just curious because I have some and was thinking about changing the motor to a brushless motor (Mega 16/15/3) with a Castle Creations 35 or 45.
Old 03-03-2005, 04:39 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Evans City, PA,
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

yep, Thunderpower 2100's, 3-cell.
Old 03-03-2005, 08:36 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: brady, TX
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

finally got the gyro set correctly and the little rascal actually flew (little),,beeen a looog time since i looked into the blades ,,fun and only broke the fin on the boom (plastic) made one out of aluminum and will see if it will hold up to my learning curve,,,getting 12 minutes out of my 6 cell nicads (twin force got robged),,,may go to the 7 cells tho,,Liteflite reccomends them ,,,later,,jim
Old 03-07-2005, 07:37 PM
  #8  
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , VA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

I just found out the Coronas are backordered at HeliHobby, any suggestions on where I can get one

Thanks

Brian Marks

[email protected]
Old 03-07-2005, 08:37 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Evans City, PA,
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

I was at the Roffee store a couple of weeks ago and they had about 7 of them in boxes. Great people to work with. The website is not that great but if you call and talk to Mike, he will set you up.

www.roffeetvhobby.com

Good luck

Chris


Old 03-09-2005, 06:37 AM
  #10  
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 60
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

Not anymore, he is out also. Looks like most vendors are out at the present time. They are saying that they are suppose to be shipped out of the factory in a day or so. I am waiting on one myself.


ORIGINAL: Airborne82nd

I was at the Roffee store a couple of weeks ago and they had about 7 of them in boxes. Great people to work with. The website is not that great but if you call and talk to Mike, he will set you up.

www.roffeetvhobby.com

Good luck

Chris


Old 03-09-2005, 06:58 AM
  #11  
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , VA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

Thanks for the info, the folks at helibobbies said it could be up to 2 months or more. Looks like it's a popular first helo.
Old 03-09-2005, 06:39 PM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Enfield, CT
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

You could also try here. They have them in stock. http://www.shopatron.com/index/113.0.385.246.0.0.0


Jer
Old 03-18-2005, 08:04 PM
  #13  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: brady, TX
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

Thanks for all the comments ,,,it does really fly and (heh, heh) its one tough bird,,straightened the boom twice, and one fin replaced,,still flying nicely on the original blades,,,damn, if i cant hurt it you must really have to dive into the ground from up very high,,,love this chopper,,it is more fun than i have ever had,,,in RC that is,,,been trying since i got out of the USN in 1965,,if you are looking into the electric choopers ,,better give this Corona 120 a look,,cant see how you can improve on the design or the durabiltiy,,,again,,thanks to all,,,jim
Old 03-18-2005, 08:16 PM
  #14  
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , VA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

Can't wait to get mine, they arriver at Roffees and I have one being shipped to arrive monday. The guys at Roffee are great to work with!!

brian
Old 04-23-2005, 10:44 AM
  #15  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Inverness, IL
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?



I'm assuming that 3-cell lipo 2100s that you are using is ThunderPower Gen2 ?

Just curious because I have some and was thinking about changing the motor to a brushless motor (Mega 16/15/3) with a Castle Creations 35 or 45.
People usually fly 7-8 cells with the 16/15/3. If you are going up to a 3S pack, wouldn't the 16/15/4 version better a better match?
Old 04-23-2005, 06:20 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: woodburn, OR
Posts: 212
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

you can improve it alright, by getting nice upgrade for it. 16/15/3 is 3000kv motor best used with 8 cell. it works fine with 3S pack. you can use 16/15/4, but be prepared to run 12 tooth pinion....
Old 05-11-2005, 02:55 PM
  #17  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

Hi guys

I have a bare bones Corona kit, and am looking to put in a good brushless setup. The Hacker seems to be the best, however the price is prohibitive and don't think it's worth the investment. The other 2 choices I am aware of is the Astro and Mega setups. Can anyone point me in the right direction in this regard. I intend to go with running lipo batteries.
I am an experienced pilot, however am new to electrics.
Thanking you in advance
Steve
Old 05-11-2005, 03:20 PM
  #18  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

Most will go with the 16/15/3. If you check around I think some will use the 16/15/4 but a larger pinion. The old Astro 20's use to throw magnetics all the time, I'm not sure if they fixed that problem. Good luck.
Old 07-07-2005, 09:27 PM
  #19  
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ellerbe, NC
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

i just bought a used 120. is this a fair deal? 1----. used great shape corona 120-----2.----new multiplex-BL-480-4D brushless motor 3.----new castle creations 45 amp speed control 4----.Crazy Crutch carbon fiber frame upgrade 5-----.carbon fiber feathering pate 6.----ikarus profi. gyro w\ heading lock 7.----3 hi tec hs81 servo s--- medal 8.----4 channel GWS transmitter w\cyrstals9.----------plus a box of blades 4 sets fins tail booms etc---------all for 350.00 did i get a fair deal?????????????
Old 07-08-2005, 09:53 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
darthdrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Munford, TN
Posts: 1,169
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

Sounds like a good deal to me. The only thing Id change would be the GWS transmitter
Old 07-09-2005, 04:23 PM
  #21  
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ellerbe, NC
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

thanks i am new to this---what battery an home charger do i need for the corona brushless motor?
Old 07-09-2005, 08:36 PM
  #22  
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ellerbe, NC
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Corona 120?

i have 2 Li-Poly 1800 mah rechargable batteries that i got with a shogun400----will they work on my corona 120 heli??????????

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.