Community
Search
Notices
O.S. Engines Support Ask Bill Baxter your questions about O.S. Engines.

Os 55 Ax dying

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2008, 09:02 PM
Wingspam

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Os 55 Ax dying

I have been using Os motors for around 5 years now, and have Never had any problems until now...

THis is my 5th Os 55 Ax, this motor now has 2 gallons of fuel ran thru it, I am having a problem with it quitting on me. I put this motor brand new motor on my new Seagull edge 540, the 40 size plane. I now have had 6 dead sticks on this plane the last one was this past Saturday.
I had about 4 flights on the plane that day, in a rotation of 3 planes. All the prior flights had been fine, the last flight the motor died about 20 feet off the ground and resulted in a hard landing. The canopy ejected (breaking the mounting tabs) and the gear ripped of the plane. Checked the fuel level it was about half full.

Everything for this motor was new, tank, tubing and of course the glow plug.

The first couple of dead stick's was because the motor didn't have enough cooling, so I opened up the bottom of the cowl. (a suggestion from my LHS)

Where should I go from here?

Thanks

Old 09-29-2008, 03:02 AM
Jeff Boyd 2

Default RE: Os 55 Ax dieing

If I can just add to this (as I don't want to post again for the SAME problem . . please don't delete me :-).

Mine has had the same problem from new . . not every flight, but MORE than enough. The motor suddenly quits at about half tank. This can even be with the throttle open say 1/2 to 3/4. Virtually wrote off one model (rebuilt it).