Community
Search
Notices
Off Topic Forum - Cars, Trucks, Buggies and more Get to know your fellow RCU member modelers in here and discuss off topic non-rc stuff. Only two topics OFF LIMITS are religion and politics. This forum for car & truck members. Plane & Heli members have their own in clubhouse section.

The end of the world (ish)

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2011, 05:52 PM
FahrtAutoRC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The end of the world (ish)

Ok so part of the reason i have not been as active on these forums is I have been taking some time here and there to begin research for my book. I have been kicking the idea around for a couple of years now about writing a post-apocalyptic novel. Kind of like Stephen King's The Stand meets The Road meets Fallout 3 meets Resident Evil/I Am Legend (but without zombies).

I have two questions, things that I really cannot find info on for one and the other is YOUR opinion:

1) Where can I find info about what an EMP would do to certain things? Would it affect all vehicles or just complex ones (meaning, would older simple vehicles with points andf magnetos still work or no)? Would it matter whether a device was on or off when the EMP hit? What info in general can be given about such and event/weapon?

2) The EMP is just one idea of many. How do YOU think civilization could collapse in present times/very near future?

Old 03-18-2011, 06:03 PM
The_Shark

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: The end of the world (ish)

EMP disrups and can destroy electronics and chips, however mechanical distributors will most likely not be destroyed by them as its all just coils and mechanical/magnetic triggers.
same goes for tube run devices, i highly doubt anything will happen.

im not certain, but everything i know ive come up with NO.

good luck finding futher research, check how it works.com
Old 03-18-2011, 06:39 PM
FahrtAutoRC