Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Newbe needs help!

Old 03-01-2005, 08:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbe needs help!

Hi all, I have been flying gas and nitro for a few years now, and now I'd like a little park flyer to be able to through around on a lazy day. I have a good radio so no RTF would do, and the cheaper the better. I was thinking of GWS's Slow Stick or J-3 Stick, what is the difference with the pico stick? Then for the electronics, I would go with the great planes 5ch Receiver with 30amp esc, and two CS-12 servos. How would that work. Thanks.
Old 03-01-2005, 08:27 AM
My Feedback: (19)

Default RE: Newbe needs help!

remember those rudder airplanes do poorly in the wind. I know you dont want a rtf but Im exactly like you looking for the same thing, after tons of reaserch im buying the space scooter which looks like a great airplane. Hope this helps.
Old 03-01-2005, 07:29 PM

That is no problem to me, but any advice on my possible choices?
Old 03-01-2005, 08:41 PM

well with your experience maybe a gws war bird might be the thing your looking for
www.gwsexpert.com
Old 03-01-2005, 09:35 PM

Tomcat_AL200

If you are truly looking for lazy park flying the Slow Stick is the plane for you.

Tomcat_AL200 the Pico Stick is a indoor type of the Slow Stick

As for electronics, go with the Hitec feather ($23-$29) it is 4 ch and good for 1000 feet + (all the range you will ever need in a park flier).
Servos can be the hitec 55 or even the knock offs ($15-$19)

I believe ( others may differ) the stock 300 motor is the best option if you are staying with a brushed motor.