Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

park flyers and wind problems

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2006, 10:46 AM
Access

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default park flyers and wind problems

I have a custom-built 'slow stick' built from the GWS kit (3-channel, brushless motor, 6-cell NIMH). When it comes to actually flying, I'm a beginner, I've flown pleanty of 'realistic' simulations of models and real planes, but every real flight I've had has ended in a crash. I was told this was the best type of plane as a 'trainer' since it is relatively inexpensive and parts are easily replaced.

The big problem in my area is the constant 5-10mph winds we have blowing in from the coast. I have no problems flying directly into or out of the wind, the plane has pleanty of power, but when I fly crosswind the plane has a tendency to roll and lose control. Most commonly it will do a full 180 degree roll and end up heading straight for the ground.

I can't change the wing dihedral angle since the plane has no ailerons.

Am I learning on the right type of plane, considering that my area has these types of winds? Is there anything I can do in terms of mods / design things or flying to avoid or negate the problem I have with crosswinds?
Old 11-21-2006, 01:37 PM
Russel-RC

Default RE: park flyers and wind problems

its fine the winds are heavey for that plane the plane is like a kite any wind will take it though if you go cross wind hold the rudder opposite to give it stability or fly it in laps where most the the time you are going with or against the wind
Old 11-21-2006, 01:46 PM
Leo L