Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

Ideas for 380 motor

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2007, 04:16 PM
qinamil

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ideas for 380 motor

I recently purchased a Cessna 182 electric with a 380 size motor and 8.4V 1100mAh NiMH motor battery inside. I wasn't very impressed with the performance of the plane in general and am looking to build something to put the motor on. Any ideas for a fun park flying plane that I could use that motor on? I am an intermediate pilot just getting back into flying and looking for something fun to fly down at the local church parking lot.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Old 07-06-2007, 02:35 AM
vega2614

Default RE: Ideas for 380 motor

I'm no expert but I'd say put the 380 in a plane that has high lift, like a piper cub or a glider. The motor and NiMH are heavy, so I figure you'll want a plane that doesn't need a lot of speed to stay aloft. My cub came with a 380/8.4V and it was significantly underpowered at 500g, so you'll probably have to go for sub-400g for decent flight characteristics. Unfortunately I don't have any specific models in mind. Hopefully others will be more helpful. Let me know if you find a good plane for the 380, since I have a spare one lying around after I upgraded my cub to brushless/lipo.
Old 07-06-2007, 10:22 AM
Leo L

Brushless outrunner motors and their speed controllers are so cheap these days, that I don't know of any reason to try to build a plane around a brushed motor. Trash the 380 and get an outrunner like the ones here: http://stores.ebay.com/Heads-Up-RC