Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Profile and Fun Flying Planes
Reload this Page >

Please, help for prop nut wrong?

Notices
Profile and Fun Flying Planes If you're a profile fan or into fun flyers than this is the forum to discuss those topics.

Please, help for prop nut wrong?

Old 05-22-2005, 01:31 AM
  #1  
westy1957
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
westy1957's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Finale Ligure, ITALY
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please, help for prop nut wrong?

Hello!
I have a little question for you: I can't understand how to use the prop nut of my new Saito 100.
I'll explain:
I have bought a Saito 100 from a friend and it came to me with a very long prop nuts that I cannot understand how to use them because they are too long. The seller told me that they are the proper prop nuts for a spinner, but I can't understand anyway how to use them and wich spinner to use.
You can see some photos of the nuts here, please: [link=http://www.olivotti.com/aerei/saito100/]Saito 100 prop nuts photos[/link]
If I can't use them easily, I will buy this part from horizon: [link=http://www.horizonhobby.com/Shop/ByCategory/Product/Default.aspx?ProdID=SAI100135]Prop nut part[/link] perhaps this would be the better thing to do (?)
Excuse my bad english, I am italian and speak only little your language.
Ciao
Paolo
Old 05-22-2005, 10:17 AM
  #2  
depfife
My Feedback: (14)
 
depfife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 5,057
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Please, help for prop nut wrong?

I had the same problem. When I purchased my spinner from Tru-Turn they sent me the same prop nut/adapter that you have. This combo requires you to ream the prop out to almost 1/2". At the time I was using an APC 15x6 prop and they worked fine with this nut and adapter. When I switched planes and wanted to try the APC 16x4W I could not use this nut/adapter combo. The hub on the 16x4W is much thinner.

I had to switch to the nut/adapter that you have linked to on Horizon's website. This combo does not require the prop to be reamed out like the one you now have. Going to this combo solved my problem.

Another option is to use a safety spinner and light lock.

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Shop/ByC...odID=HIGSPN008

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXL742&P=0

Eric
Old 05-22-2005, 12:57 PM
  #3  
depfife
My Feedback: (14)
 
depfife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 5,057
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Please, help for prop nut wrong?

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/Plea...2998511/tm.htm

There is a thread on this same topic open in the Glow Engines forum. The link above will take you there. I'm closing this one.

Eric

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.