Community
Search
Notices
Profile and Fun Flying Planes If you're a profile fan or into fun flyers than this is the forum to discuss those topics.

CG for Top Cap

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2002, 12:17 AM
Frankenthumb
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CG for Top Cap

Hello, I'm just about finished putting my Top Cap ARF together and was wondering how far back you guys have taken the CG. I'm a good pilot, and love doing wild manuvers.

BTW, this thing seems pretty big for my 50SX. What engines are you guys using? I'm thinking I might have to upgrade to a 60, or maybe a 91.

Frank
Old 11-15-2002, 12:20 AM
wgeffon
My Feedback: (4)

Default CG for Top Cap

Start at the recomended point. Some people think it flies tail heavy there.
I flew mine about 1/2" behind that point.

You wont need anything bigger than that .50 for this plane. Heavier motors will kill the performance.
The lighter the wing loading the better they fly.
Old 11-15-2002, 12:27 AM
Frankenthumb

Default CG for Top Cap

It does seem light for it's size . . . but will it hover with a 50SX? What prop?
Old 11-15-2002, 12:29 AM
wgeffon

Default CG for Top Cap

It should hover fine with the .50
Try a 12x4 wood prop.

( I run Saito .72's in my profiles )
Old 11-15-2002, 04:13 AM
Billy Hell

Default CG for Top Cap

Even extremely tail heavy she isn't that hard to land.
Old 11-15-2002, 04:20 AM
ChuckAuger
My Feedback: (12)

Default Yeah, but...

What's the measurement...I got the one I traded for, but he pulled his battery and RX out. I might ought to check my CG before the first flight..
Old 11-15-2002, 05:31 AM
jsonin

Default Same setup...

Frank,

I've got the exact same setup: a TopCap ARF with an OS 50. I'm switching to an OS 46. I don't need all the power of the 50 (I can't believe I'm saying that!) and more importantly, the 50 low and high-end needle essemblies drive me nuts. You can check out my TopCap with the 50 at:

http://archive.ncsa.uiuc.edu/Cyberia...rc_topcap.html