Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Profile and Fun Flying Planes
Reload this Page >

Top Cap as Sport Plane?

Community
Search
Notices
Profile and Fun Flying Planes If you're a profile fan or into fun flyers than this is the forum to discuss those topics.

Top Cap as Sport Plane?

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2006, 10:47 AM
mmattockx

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Top Cap as Sport Plane?

Hi All,

First post from a serial lurker...

A bit of background - I am getting back in the hobby after a long break (about 8 years, man things have changed!) and was a competent pilot before leaving. Built a fair number of planes, mostly from scratch (I am a better builder than pilot) and could handle most planes in the air without leaving a smoking hole. I am looking for a quasi-trainer to get me back airborne but don't want a true trainer, as I found them to be dull and boring even when I was first learning to solo. I have been looking at a profile fun fly plane as my "trainer", set up with milder throws and a somewhat forward CofG to provide a very slow flying aircraft that will be easy to handle and let me get my feet wet again, while not fighting control inputs at all (my big complaint with trainers - they try to fly themselves). I have a couple of questions relating to the Morris Hobbies Top Cap that I have not been able to find the answer to in reading a lot of back posts and searching the archives:

1) I have a TT 36 Pro sitting in the box and would like to use it for this plane. It is a light, powerful engine, but is it enough for a Top Cap? Eventually, I will want to be able to start fooling around with at least sport aerobatics (say, sportsman pattern without all the precision, big loops, spins, etc.) and some 3D stuff as I get my skills back. Will the TT be enough for a lightly built Top Cap or will I be swapping in my Super Tigre 45 at some point?