Community
Search
Notices
Profile and Fun Flying Planes If you're a profile fan or into fun flyers than this is the forum to discuss those topics.

How to hover?

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2002, 10:49 PM
Billy Hell
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to hover?

I'm new with to funfly. I always thought I knew how to hover but haven't tried to do it with my plane yet. I was fooling around with FMS and can't get anything to hover. They either fall out or just keep going up. I've tried it with 10 or so FMS funfly profile models. Maybe FMS isn't like the real thing but I thought it would be best to figure it out there and then take out the Duck! (my ff plane) and give it a try for real. Can you give me any pointers?
Old 04-05-2002, 11:51 PM
SmithSpecial
My Feedback: (53)

Default Hover

Hold your plane pointed straight up.Advance your throttle till the plane feels weightless.Count the clicks back to idle on the throttle stick.Now you have an idea of where to have your throttle stick in order to hover.
Old 04-06-2002, 12:31 AM
Mike Bell
My Feedback: (6)

Default How to hover?

A longer low pitch prop helps an bunch.
I also move the CG to the farthest recomended point, this helps too.
Try an 80-85 degree hover first, the plane won't torque there and burn lots of fuel.

Mike
Old 04-06-2002, 05:21 AM
wgeffon
My Feedback: (4)

Default How to hover?

To enter it the plane needs to be just about stopped going vertical.
Enter a slight dive, pull the throttle to idle, pull the plane vertical. If it snaps out, enter the vertical portion with a little more speed. When the plane just about stops going up add power to try and catch it there. You'll figure out how much to add after a few tries. Also, at this point pay attention to what the plane wants to do as the power comes in. You may need right rudder. Once you know what its going to need you can input it before you see the plane veering off.