Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > PST Jets
Reload this Page >

a123 battery for ecu

Notices
PST Jets Direct support for PST Jets Turbines.

a123 battery for ecu

Old 01-11-2008, 12:58 PM
  #1  
A MAY
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: FAIRFIELD , CA
Posts: 258
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default a123 battery for ecu

i have a pst 1300r was wondering if a 9.9 volt a123 will work for the ecu before i buy one
thank you
Arden May
Old 01-12-2008, 01:37 PM
  #2  
Kelly W
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Delta, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,010
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: a123 battery for ecu

Hi Arden,

The motor comes stock with a 7.2 V pack. A 9.9 volt pack is within the ECU's operating limits, but there are two concerns.

(1) On a 7.2volt pack, the ECU draws somewhere in the vicinity of ~16 amps when the start is just initialised. This is just a peak amperage, occurring when the motor just makes contact with the compressor nut and becomes stalled out for an instant. the current drops off rather quickly once the shaft begins to rotate of course... You'll need to size a pack for that peak amperage + a few amps for tolerance of components and taking into account the increased driving voltage. I can't say exactly what will happen since I have no experience what so ever with this battery.

(2) You may wind up driving some components with a higher voltage, such as the starter motor and propane solenoid for example. The propane solenoid operates as if it is connected directly to the pack, and is not limited to a specific voltage. the solenoid is designed for a 6V driving voltage, but 7.2 does not seem to cause any long term effects. I can not state what you should expect if you try to run it at 9.9 V in the short or long term. The current will be far higher than the valve is accustomed to.

The only battery that I typically recommend that is a deviation from spec is the Duralite 7.4 V ECU pack, 3600mAh or more. I would need to test one for myself and discuss the results with PST in Thailand prior to qualifying this battery as a suitable alternative.

I'll also reply to your PM re: the fuel solenoid upgrade later today.
Kelly
Old 01-29-2008, 07:27 PM
  #3  
A MAY
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: FAIRFIELD , CA
Posts: 258
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: a123 battery for ecu

I'll also reply to your PM re: the fuel solenoid upgrade later today.
Kelly
Old 01-30-2008, 12:55 AM
  #4  
Kelly W
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Delta, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,010
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: a123 battery for ecu

Yeah, I know I've been a little late on that one. Sorry about that. I've been a bit sick, and out of town the last few days... Also, If you see the earlier [link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_6988239/tm.htm]thread[/link], you'll notice that I'm officially not part of PST any longer. I'll answer this one for you though, since I promised you a reply. Further on, I'd suggest you contact the factory directly.

To answer why the engine would not get flooded with fuel, you should first ask why would it in the 1st place? The fuel solenoid is not required in that the ECU will not command the fuel pump to run until the necessary parameters have been met. Fuel will not move through the system in a significant flow rate if the pump is not running, and it won't flood in start up with the fuel pump following its pre programmed ramp curve... On the other hand, if you fill up your jet and forget to close the ball valve, you will likely have a heightened EGT due to the internal pressure causing some fuel to leak through the pump and drip into the engine case prior to the start up.

Kelly
Old 02-08-2008, 12:35 PM
  #5  
ajay200126
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: aaa, AB, INDIA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: a123 battery for ecu

does any one have used ecu for sale with all accesories

thrmo couple pressure sensor

rpm sensor

hand data terminal
Old 02-08-2008, 09:08 PM
  #6  
B777
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangkok, THAILAND
Posts: 726
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: a123 battery for ecu

Ajay, PST should be able to help with your requirement. Please contact us direct.

Cheers,
Kraivuth S.
[email protected]
Old 05-02-2010, 03:25 AM
  #7  
cjshaker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 230
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: a123 battery for ecu

Any updates on A123 ECU battery support for my PST 600R?

Thank you,
Chris Shaker
[email protected]

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.