Notices
Q-40 Racing Discuss AMA 422 and any other variants of Quarter 40 racing

Primer Reccommendations?

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2006, 03:33 AM
smacfe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Primer Reccommendations?

I'm looking for recommendations for primers. I have been using PPG K36. After buying a plane from Lyle that had been already primered, I realize what a pain in the rear K36 really is. First off it is gray, which requires more color to cover. Second, it is designed to go over metal and be machine sanded. It normally takes me 2 1/2 - 3 hours to sand off a coat of K36 primer and only 20 minutes to do the same with Lyle's primer which is yellow. I can't find the stuff that Lyle uses locally, so I'm looking for any recommendations from you guys.
Scott
Old 08-16-2006, 01:57 PM
kommander

Default RE: Primer Reccommendations?

Scott

I'm by no means an expert but I use and like a product made by Pacific Coast Laquer called Polyprimer. It comes in white, grey,red and black. I like the white or grey. It can be thinned with acetone and I,ve sprayed it with an air brush, it also sands nicely. Bruce
Old 08-16-2006, 11:26 PM
smacfe

Bruce,
Where can I get some ? I would really like to get a white primer
Scott
Old 08-17-2006, 12:07 AM
Dave Presta
My Feedback: (3)

Scott,
Bruce is talking about the same stuff we use, it is a catalized polyester primer and sands like butter. We sand the primer with 320 dry and spray base coat, and yes being available in white is a bonus. I would call around your auto paint stores and ask for it, if they dont stock it they can most likely order it for you.
Presta
Old 08-17-2006, 12:42 AM
garys

Presta, what do you know?..you're just a jet pilot and flies other people's stuff. Now go back to the jet forum so you can be with your real friends....

Scott...try this... http://www.pclautomotive.com/distributors.html

GS

ps...Dave, you know we luv ya...even though you dumped us...
Old 08-18-2006, 01:05 AM
smacfe