Community
Search
Notices
Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

Racing Simulators

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2004, 01:15 PM
timalbritton

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Racing Simulators

I am a Newbie and am going to try to fly 424 next season. I have never flown the course before. Would it help me to practice over the winter on a simulator? I have heard if you learn on a simulator you will never be able to fly the real thing.
Old 12-03-2004, 02:27 PM
splatt

Default RE: Racing Simulators

I'd worry about bad habits more than anything. What I see when using G2 is that you want to fly low enough to see it in the screen. But that puts you under the pylons. Remember to fly above the poles.

That's probably why I flew right through pylon 3 in the first heat of the first race last this last spring, right Diggs ? You can see evidence on the homepage of ncplracing.org

Otherwise it makes good practice. When you get hot and feel your in the groove just hit the letter R on the keyboard and continue flying for a few minutes and hit R again to stop the recording and save it . Do this a couple times and when you play it back, your racing against yourself.

Don't bother with the pylon race on the program. Go find a airport that's all set up on the pylon course.
Old 12-03-2004, 02:32 PM
diggs_74

Splatt,

Your bad habbit of flying under the poles cured my bad habbit of standing so close to the #3 pole
Old 12-03-2004, 03:26 PM
DHG
My Feedback: (7)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Welcome, Tim. Are you by chance related to J.E. Albritton from Prince Georges R/C Club or thereabouts?

Duane Gall
RCPRO