Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

voltmeter problems

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

voltmeter problems

Old 01-25-2011, 03:54 PM
  #1  
andrewskj
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Las Vegas , NV
Posts: 105
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default voltmeter problems

I have a hobbico digital voltmeter and it is about 8 yrs old never dropped or mishandled. When I go to check out my rx batteries the volt readings go up and down as in malfunctioning . I changed the 9 volt battery and still has the same thing . if I switch it on and off and get it to read steady 0 v then I get a solid reading . Do they wear out over time there's very little that can wear out . could my switch be bad ???? Please advise and thank you in advance for all your help ...
Ken
Old 01-25-2011, 04:47 PM
  #2  
K-Bob
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Anytown
Posts: 1,287
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: voltmeter problems

Use a new set of wires/leads. You could have a probem in one of the bananna plugs. Very common problem.
Old 01-25-2011, 05:07 PM
  #3  
stevenmax50
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ft payne, AL
Posts: 1,207
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: voltmeter problems

I think I would be very glad if I could say if mine lasts a full 8 years.  Mine is around 2-3 yeqars old and works just fine.  Its just that I worked avionics for 31 years and I am used to a much higher quality voltmeter.  A fluke or a simpson are built to last.  Maybe I am wrong but my Hobbico looks and feels like it was made to be replaced fairly soon.  All that being said K-Bob is right.  Often times its just a lead problem.  Can you take your banana leads apart and check the connections?  They may have worn thin and need re-soldering. 
Old 01-25-2011, 05:17 PM
  #4  
andrewskj
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Las Vegas , NV
Posts: 105
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: voltmeter problems

my banna plugs worked perfect on my radio shack exp scale meter but no load that's why I don't use that good meter . thanks for the heads up on the plugs guys I appreciate your help this is such a great site.

Ken
Old 01-25-2011, 07:36 PM
  #5  
Villa
Senior Member
 
Villa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wilson, NC,
Posts: 2,057
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: voltmeter problems

I use the Heathkit expanded scale voltmeter I built in about 1972 when I built an 8 channel Heathkit R/C transmitter. The meter has no battery, as far as I remember. It works perfectly. Every time. That is 39 years!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.