Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Quality difference between TRUE TURN or DAVE BROWN 3.5"alum. spinners?

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Quality difference between TRUE TURN or DAVE BROWN 3.5"alum. spinners?

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2003, 03:28 PM
rustyrivet
My Feedback: (6)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Quality difference between TRUE TURN or DAVE BROWN 3.5"alum. spinners?

I'm going to be building a Big Bingo with a Moki 2.1, and I need to buy a 3.5 "spinner. I will have the spinner cut at the factory for a 20x10" zinger prop.

This is not a Top Gun scale warbird I'm building. I can save $25 to $35 bucks using a Dave Brown Spinner instead of a True Turn Spinner, but I have no experience with either one of these.

Will the Dave Brown work well enough for my purposes? What is the extra $30 bucks for a TRUE TURN Spinner buying me that the Dave Brown Spinner doesn't provide?
Old 08-29-2003, 03:57 PM
tonyc
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tru Turn is lighter/better quality.

I have used both. The Tru Turn comes out a little lighter. Your motor will not know the difference.

I buy Dave Brown and save the bucks for something else.

tonyc
Old 08-29-2003, 04:05 PM
FlyingPilgrim
My Feedback: (26)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have both brands (in smaller sizes), and there is no obvious difference. The Tru-Turns are actually machined from bar stock, while the Dave Browns are "spun" from an aluminum slug (I think!). Theoretically, the Tru-Turn may be stronger, but I cannot tell the difference. I know Tru-Turn offers custom cutting for your prop, but does Dave Brown as well?
Old 08-29-2003, 11:58 PM
rustyrivet

Well guys I'm glad to hear a thumbs up with the Dave Brown.

Flying Pilgrim;