Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Prop size for trainer

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Prop size for trainer

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2013, 07:19 AM
loves nitro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Prop size for trainer

Im fairly new to flying RC planes, I've been soloing for about 4 months, Im flying a Sig Kadet with an older OS .46 LA engine. The prop I have on it is an 11/7, but the plane seems slow to take off, slow in flight, and it seems like it takes a 40 acres to turn her in flight. I know this plane is meant to be slow, but in the air the plane is like a bus, slow and not very manuverable. I've been told that the older OS .46 La engines aren't very good, and low on power, so Im not sure if the low power level, and very slow manuverability could be from the engine, or the prop. If you guys think I should try some different size props, could you recommend some sizes to try?
Thanks Much,
paul
Old 08-25-2013, 07:36 AM
JPMacG
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

To me, an 11/7 seems like too much prop for an LA46. I would try a 11/6 or even a 10/6. Props are inexpensive. It is good to experiment.

If your goal is to get off the ground in less distance then a lower pitch prop is the way to go.... like a 11/5. If you goal is to go fast in the sky then a higher pitch prop is the answer... like a 10/7.

Making turns is another story. If you have a transmitter with the capability, try mixing a little rudder with the ailerons. Some airplanes with flat bottom wings don't turn well with aileron only. Start out with just a very little amount of rudder deflection.

Last edited by JPMacG; 08-25-2013 at 07:43 AM.
Old 08-25-2013, 07:42 AM
j.duncker
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

To much pitch for that engine plane set up.

An APC 12 ,25 x 3,25 will transform the take off and make it easier to land.