Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Concealed hatch question

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Concealed hatch question

Old 04-16-2015, 12:31 PM
  #1  
p3arljam
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: matthews, NC
Posts: 254
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Concealed hatch question

[HR][/HR] I am making a hatch on my Decathlon to hid my power switch/charge port and remote glow. I have tried and tried to hinge the door but the part of the door closest to hinge hits the outside frame of where the door is but out . I have tried the hinge in the picture which to me would seem to work like the robart hinge but no luck anyone have any ideas? The picture you see is the door as it will be affixed to the inside of the plane with covering over the top it is cut that way to fit the shape of the fuselage. You can see the area where it will be placed in the photo on the right.


Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20150416_161657.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	240.0 KB
ID:	2089621   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150416_161735.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	286.1 KB
ID:	2089622   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tank.JPG
Views:	56
Size:	262.2 KB
ID:	2089623  
Old 04-16-2015, 01:46 PM
  #2  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,988
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

need to see how you're hinging it,, that hinge should work fine
Old 04-16-2015, 01:54 PM
  #3  
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)
 
daveopam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ELK CITY, OK
Posts: 7,626
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

I am not totally following your train of thought. But I think that hinge would work if the door was opening in, not out. A removable door is easier to hide IMHO and much easier to make. I would put a block on the door and fuse on the LE end with a couple small dowels. One the other end a magnet or spring loaded latch.(see link below).

David

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXMRK5&P=ML

If a hinge is the way you want to do it, try this one..

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXES27&P=7
Old 04-16-2015, 02:22 PM
  #4  
p3arljam
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: matthews, NC
Posts: 254
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

This is how it will look from the inside. The area where the door is cut out between the hinge is where it is binding. As for opening to the inside there is not i=enough room for that because of the charge port power switch and on board glow.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20150416_181359.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	230.1 KB
ID:	2089639  
Old 04-16-2015, 02:42 PM
  #5  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,988
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

you just need to cut that area at a slight angle to allow the door not to rub as it opens,, I would be using 2 hinges myself, but one would work I guess,,

good luck
Old 04-16-2015, 02:44 PM
  #6  
p3arljam
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: matthews, NC
Posts: 254
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I plan on using 2 hinges the picture is just to give you an idea. Thanks for the help i will give it a try.
Old 04-20-2015, 10:40 AM
  #7  
raptureboy
 
raptureboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kempton PA
Posts: 2,620
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Need to get the hinge pin up at the pivot line. I use the same hinges.
Old 04-20-2015, 04:59 PM
  #8  
foodstick
 
foodstick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ankeny, IA
Posts: 5,560
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Dowel alignment pins and magnets to hold it shut is the only way I do it anymore. it just works so well....

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.