Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Gearbox for an ICE

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Gearbox for an ICE

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2015, 12:06 PM
drew110307

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gearbox for an ICE

Hello, I am a senior engineering student at Cedarville University. For my senior design project we are building a RC airplane to compete at the SAE Aero Design East advanced competition in March. We have already purchased the O.S. 46AXII ABL engine. The design team last year was having trouble getting enough thrust out of the engine and we are limited to a 0.46 in^3 displacement so getting a larger engine is out of the question. An idea we had was to get a gearbox to create more thrust. The crankshaft size on this engine is 1/4 inch. From what I am seeing most gearboxes are designed for much smaller motor shaft sizes, for electric engines. We are also not allowed to use electric engines. I found other pinion gears at: https://www.servocity.com/html/32_pi...l#.VjEi7HqrS72 and was wondering if one of these 1/4 inch gears could be substituted for a gear on one of the gearboxes below that was designed for a smaller motor shaft. If you had any sort of information that would possibly help with this I would greatly appreciate it.

Gearboxes:
http://www.rcecho.com/RC-Model-Big-S...ane-GB090.html
http://www.rcecho.com/RC-Model-Metal...otor-Gear.html
Old 10-28-2015, 02:01 PM
GREG DOE

Received 26 Likes on 23 Posts

Depending on what you have access to in regards to fabrication, you might consider a belt drive. Don't forget that any reduction device will come at the cost of added weight. Also a single two gear reduction will dictate a left hand rotation prop, which may limit your prop choices. A belt drive does not change the direction of rotation.