Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Pneumatic Retract Question

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Pneumatic Retract Question

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2004, 06:30 PM
SpockF4

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pneumatic Retract Question

Hi,
I am setting up my first set of retracts and I have a question. About how long should the properly installed system hold the pressure charge when you are not actually cycling the gear. If I pump the system up and just let it sit, about how long will the charge last? Are we talking about hours or days? As I said I am new to retracts and pneumatic systems and I want to make sure I set the system up properly. Thanks for the info.
Ken
Old 01-05-2004, 08:49 PM
Stick Jammer

Default RE: Pneumatic Retract Question

I can put 100 psi in my system and it's still there a week later (new system). Theoretically, it only needs to hold sufficient pressure for the duration of your intended flight, but if it can't hold it for at least a few hours, you have a leak somewhere, usually O-rings.
Old 01-05-2004, 09:26 PM
Doug D.

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I like to charge the system to the rated capacity, say 100PSI, then see how many cycles that gives you. ( one up and one down=one cycle) Then charge it up again and let it set over night. I you get the same amount of cycles that you got the first time, you should have no problems at the field.
Charging to max capacity will also let you know if anything is going to blow off. [&:]
Old 01-05-2004, 09:58 PM
SpockF4

Thanks for the info. That is a great idea to count the cycles and then let it sit overnight and try it again. I will give it a try. Thanks again.
Ken
Old 01-06-2004, 02:34 PM
Kevlar
My Feedback: (47)