Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Electric Jackscrew

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Electric Jackscrew

Old 03-05-2004, 10:06 AM
JayGull
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electric Jackscrew

Anybody out there familiar with or know of a link to make an electric jackscrew? I am wanting to make one out of a low voltage screwdriver (3.6 - 6.0 volt). I am not an electronics expert, so I need details on how to set up, and wire using microswitches, etc.

Thanks

Jay
Old 03-05-2004, 10:11 AM
JimTrainor

Default RE: Electric Jackscrew

Do you want simple on/off control. Or proportional, like a servo?
Old 03-05-2004, 10:18 AM
JayGull

I think simple on off control. In other words when the jacksrew reaches its end point I want it to shut off. Perhaps set up on a toggle switch on my transmitter, that way I can have it move in two directions. Make sense??

Jay
Old 03-05-2004, 12:17 PM
JNorton
My Feedback: (2)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

If no one else replies, I'll scan an image of how to wire it when I get home. No scanners at work. You will need a DPDT switch set up to reverse the DC motor. Center contacts are wired to each side of the motor. End contacts are crossed. In other words the top left contact of the switch is wired to the bottom right contact. Then the Top right contact is wired to the bottom left. Then each side is wired to your battery, one side for plus the other for minus. Do not have theses leads shorting! . I'd use a roller micro and a wheel on the servo used to control this. Make a cutout on the wheel so that it ramps the switch on or off depending on the servo direction in the center of it's travel. Then at each end limit position of the jackscrew wire a lever arm micro normally closed, so that the switch opens when the jack screw is at it's maximum travel. Zap you have it using 3 switches and a servo.
John