Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Worn out ARFs?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2005, 05:15 PM
Andy McC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Worn out ARFs?

Has anyone worn out an ARF other than by crash damage ? I have been flying a Phoenix Scanner for a couple of years. During that time its had its usual share of rough landings, hanger rash etc. Its getting a bit tatty and I have completed running repairs to the covering etc. Recently I have had to repair some cross member joints where the glue appears to have given up. This has got me thinking about the life expectancy of these models which I assume are assembled in China or Vietnam etc. How good is the glue, are there any dry joints that eventually give up. Do I keep flying risking my radio gear/engine etc if there is a major failure caused by wear.
Old 02-08-2005, 05:20 PM
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Worn out ARFs?

I have sold almost all of my ARFs after very few flights, so no, I haven't worn one out. I have however worn out a few built up. I had a shoestring that was painted that had more stress cracks in it than not. We always said that when it came apart, it would be spectacular. Man was that an understatement! Was the most amazing explosion of parts I have seen. I flew it hard, right up to the end. It had never been dinged or crashed or mistreated, and the stress cracks would be repaired with thin CA, but eventually, it just let go in a high G maneuver. It flew for many many years though. Got my moneys worth out of that thing many times over.
Old 02-08-2005, 11:21 PM
TexasAirBoss
My Feedback: (22)

My Kougar, a kit, exploded after 9 1/2 years. The oldest ARF that I have is only 5 or 6 years old, and it looks fine, Kyosho Cap232. But the rudder cables are coming apart. Hmm, that reminds me.
Old 02-09-2005, 02:12 AM
proptop
My Feedback: (8)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts